aetherAI vs Aiforia
A hospital lab in the EU or EEA that wants CE-IVD prostate biopsy AI starts with Aiforia. The company reported IVDR certification in February 2025, sells a CE-IVD Clinical Suite Viewer and a CE-IVD prostate biopsy suite, and lets labs train their own models in Aiforia Create. Its security page lists ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II. aetherAI's About page lists TFDA approval for the Hema and Endo modules and states no CE mark, which makes it the weaker pick for that lab.
A US lab that scans on the Philips Ultra Fast Scanner and reads on the PS27QHDCR monitor is aetherAI's customer. aetherSlide holds 510(k) K233126, decided in May 2024, for primary diagnosis of scanned FFPE slides on that hardware, and the homepage adds planning and implementation of the digital setup. Aiforia's prostate suite carries research-use labeling outside the EU and EEA, and openFDA lists no 510(k) under the Aiforia name. For that lab, Aiforia loses.
Pathology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

aetherAI
by aetherAI · founded 2015
FDA-cleared slide viewer for hospital pathology labs. Bone marrow and colon polyp AI modules are TFDA approved in Taiwan.

Aiforia
by Aiforia Technologies
Pathology image analysis AI: CE-IVD prostate cancer biopsy suite and clinical suite viewer, plus research tools. No FDA clearance.
When to pick each one
aetherAI
- Plans and implements digital pathology setups, per homepage
- 510(k) K233126 with Philips scanner and monitor
Aiforia
- CE-IVD prostate biopsy suite, IVDR reported February 2025
- ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II
- Aiforia Create for training own models
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
aetherAI
51of 100
Aiforia
31of 100
| Dimension | aetherAI | Aiforia | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 0 / 18 | +18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 3.9 / 7.8 | -3.9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 6 / 12 | -3 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
aetherAI
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Aiforia
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The pricing page returns a 404. |
Evidence
aetherAI
FDA decisions
K233126 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-05-30
aetherSlide
Peer-reviewed
2 PubMed records name aetherAI.
Aiforia
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
3 PubMed records name Aiforia.
- A deep-learning algorithm (AIFORIA) for classification of hematopoietic cells in bone marrow aspirate smears based on nine cell classes-a feasible approach for routine screening? (opens in new tab)
- Comparing non-machine learning vs. machine learning methods for Ki67 scoring in gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumors. (opens in new tab)
- A machine learning model of lamina propria fibrosis in eosinophilic esophagitis for prediction of fibrostenotic disease. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | aetherAI | Aiforia |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2015 | n/a |
| HQ | TW | FI |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full pathology comparison
Digital pathology workflows with FDA-cleared cancer detection (prostate, breast, colon), IHC scoring (HER2, Ki67), and AI-powered image management. Tempus, PathAI, Proscia dominate.
