aetherAI vs PathAI AISight
aetherAI suits a Taiwanese hospital lab, since its About page lists TFDA clearance for aetherSlide and the company is based in Taipei. PathAI fits a US lab on Hamamatsu NanoZoomer S360MD or Leica Aperio GT 450 DX scanners, or a lab in the EEA, UK or Switzerland. AISight Dx is cleared for primary diagnosis on digital FFPE slides, K243391 from June 2025, after the Novo clearance K212361 from August 2022. A predetermined change control plan lets PathAI add scanners, displays, formats and browsers without a new 510(k), and a CE-IVD mark covers the EEA, UK and Switzerland. The AI algorithms remain research use, so the clearances cover the viewer and image management.
A lab director who wants the vendor's ownership fixed before signing has an open question with PathAI. Roche signed an agreement on May 7, 2026 to acquire it, with closing expected in the second half of 2026 and not yet confirmed.
Pathology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

aetherAI
by aetherAI · founded 2015
FDA-cleared slide viewer for hospital pathology labs. Bone marrow and colon polyp AI modules are TFDA approved in Taiwan.

PathAI AISight
by PathAI · founded 2016
Cloud image management for digital pathology with AISight Dx, cleared for primary diagnosis, plus biopharma AI services.
When to pick each one
aetherAI
- TFDA clearance for aetherSlide, per About page
- Fits a Taiwanese hospital lab going digital
PathAI AISight
- AISight Dx cleared for primary diagnosis, K243391
- CE-IVD for EEA, UK and Switzerland
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
aetherAI
51of 100
PathAI AISight
40of 100
| Dimension | aetherAI | PathAI AISight | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 18 / 18 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 0 / 21 | +14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 6 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
aetherAI
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
PathAI AISight
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Billing period, trial and refund not stated. |
Evidence
aetherAI
FDA decisions
K233126 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-05-30
aetherSlide
Peer-reviewed
2 PubMed records name aetherAI.
PathAI AISight
FDA decisions
K243391 (opens in new tab)510(k)2025-06-26
AISight Dx
K212361 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-08-11
Novo
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | aetherAI | PathAI AISight |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2015 | 2016 |
| HQ | TW | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full pathology comparison
Digital pathology workflows with FDA-cleared cancer detection (prostate, breast, colon), IHC scoring (HER2, Ki67), and AI-powered image management. Tempus, PathAI, Proscia dominate.
