Aiforia vs Freenome
A lab buying pathology image software and a clinic offering blood-based screening are different buyers. A lab that runs clinical, preclinical or academic work picks Aiforia, whose clinical suites, colon among them, analyze pathology images. Freenome's SimpleScreen CRC is a blood test for colorectal cancer screening in adults 45 and older at average risk, approved under FDA PMA P250029 on July 24, 2026. It reads cell-free DNA from a blood draw. Per the approval release, Abbott will commercialize it in the U.S.
Aiforia Technologies Plc has traded on Nasdaq First North Growth Market Helsinki since December 2021. PitchBook puts its FY2025 revenue at about USD 4.0M (converted), and Dealroom lists a EUR 20M EIB debt facility from July 2026. Freenome began trading on Nasdaq as FRNM on July 21, 2026.
Pathology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Aiforia
by Aiforia Technologies
Pathology image analysis AI: CE-IVD prostate cancer biopsy suite and clinical suite viewer, plus research tools. No FDA clearance.

Freenome
by Freenome · founded 2014
FDA-approved SimpleScreen CRC blood test for colorectal cancer screening in adults 45 and older at average risk.
When to pick each one
Aiforia
- Clinical suites cover breast, lung, colon and gastric
- Serves clinical, preclinical and academic labs
- Research and veterinary offerings
Freenome
- FDA PMA P250029, decided July 24, 2026
- Screens adults 45 and older at average risk
- Abbott commercializes it in the U.S.
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Aiforia
31of 100
Freenome
40of 100
| Dimension | Aiforia | Freenome | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 18 | 18 / 18 | -18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 0 / 21 | +14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 3.9 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | +3.9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Aiforia
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The pricing page returns a 404. |
Freenome
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Evidence
Aiforia
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
3 PubMed records name Aiforia.
- A deep-learning algorithm (AIFORIA) for classification of hematopoietic cells in bone marrow aspirate smears based on nine cell classes-a feasible approach for routine screening? (opens in new tab)
- Comparing non-machine learning vs. machine learning methods for Ki67 scoring in gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumors. (opens in new tab)
- A machine learning model of lamina propria fibrosis in eosinophilic esophagitis for prediction of fibrostenotic disease. (opens in new tab)
Freenome
FDA decisions
P250029 (opens in new tab)PMA2026-07-24
SimpleScreen CRC
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Aiforia | Freenome |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2014 |
| HQ | FI | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full pathology comparison
Digital pathology workflows with FDA-cleared cancer detection (prostate, breast, colon), IHC scoring (HER2, Ki67), and AI-powered image management. Tempus, PathAI, Proscia dominate.
