Anatomage Table vs OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
OTTAVA is a soft-tissue surgical robot that received FDA De Novo authorization in July 2026, record DEN250068, for ten general surgery procedures including cholecystectomy, appendectomy and gastric bypass. J&J is launching with select U.S. customers, lists no price and sells it as a capital item alongside the Polyphonic digital layer. Its authorization rested on an IDE study that began in late 2024, and analysts quoted by MedTech Dive doubt it will gain ground on Intuitive's da Vinci soon.
Anatomage's Table combines digitized cadavers, procedure simulations and DICOM scan viewing in one device. One university quoted it at $68,000, and no FDA clearance is listed for it.
The two are not substitutes. A surgical department with a robotic program is the OTTAVA buyer, and an anatomy department or simulation center is the Table's.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Anatomage Table
by Anatomage
Life-size touch-interactive virtual cadaver and surgical planning viz.

OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
by J&J MedTech
OTTAVA, Johnson & Johnson MedTech's soft-tissue surgical robot (FDA De Novo, July 2026), with its Polyphonic digital layer.
When to pick each one
Anatomage Table
- University quote of $68,000 for a horizontal table
- Teaching table for anatomy departments and simulation centers
- Imports and renders DICOM patient scans
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
- FDA De Novo authorization, DEN250068, July 2026
- Ten general surgery procedures in the authorization
- Polyphonic layer for learning, media and data insights
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Anatomage Table
31of 100
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
35of 100
| Dimension | Anatomage Table | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 18 | 18 / 18 | -18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 0 / 21 | +14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | +2.5 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Anatomage Table
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | n/a | n/a | $80K-100K hardware. |
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Capital sale. |
Evidence
Anatomage Table
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name Anatomage Table.
- The impact of Anatomage table on writing of medical students' case reports: A comparative study. (opens in new tab)
- A new approach to peripheral nerve block education with the Anatomage Table as a learning adjunct. (opens in new tab)
- Specific educational strategies using the Anatomage table for physical and occupational therapy students: a questionnaire-based survey. (opens in new tab)
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
FDA decisions
DEN250068 (opens in new tab)De Novo2026-07-21
OTTAVA Robotic Surgical System (applicant Auris Health, Inc.)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Anatomage Table | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.
