MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Anatomage Table vs VirtaMed

Anatomy teaching and procedural skills training rarely share a budget, so these two seldom compete head on. A university anatomy department takes Anatomage: an 84-inch multi-touch screen of digitized cadavers (male, female, geriatric, pregnant) with ultrasound, craniotomy and catheterization simulation. The vendor posts no price. A University of North Florida quote lists $68,000 for the horizontal table and about $87,040 with a four-year extended warranty and shipping, one time. An orthopedic or urology residency takes VirtaMed: ArthroS, LaparoS, GynoS, UroS or RoboS with original instruments and haptics, as a capital purchase at an unpublished price.

VirtaMed has a study of 22 novice students on ArthroS, and in a 14-resident RCT ArthroS Hip VR performed similarly to an immersive VR rival. Anatomage's literature is mostly perception-based, small single-institution samples. A medical school simulation center with one equipment line and a residency to serve gets no tactile feedback from Anatomage, which leaves it the weaker fit for instrument handling. FDA status is not stated for the Table, and VirtaMed's page makes no FDA statement.

Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Anatomage Table logo

Anatomage Table

by Anatomage

Life-size touch-interactive virtual cadaver and surgical planning viz.

VirtaMed logo

VirtaMed

by VirtaMed AG

Surgical training simulators with real instruments for arthroscopy, laparoscopy, gynecology, urology and robotic surgery.

When to pick each one

Anatomage Table

  • Digitized cadavers on an 84-inch touch table
  • Third-party quotes run $68,000 to $100,000 one-time
  • Imports DICOM patient scans
Read the full Anatomage Table review

VirtaMed

  • Real instruments with haptics for arthroscopy and laparoscopy
  • Also covers gynecology, urology and robotic surgery
  • Capital purchase, no public price
Read the full VirtaMed review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Anatomage Table

31of 100

Competitive

VirtaMed

37of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Anatomage Table and VirtaMed
DimensionAnatomage TableVirtaMedDifference
FDA clearance0 / 180 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 1.40 / 1.40
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 0.80 / 0.80
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2114.7 / 210
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 7.87.8 / 7.8-7.8
Funding & adoption signal6 / 123 / 12+3
Pricing transparency5 / 55 / 50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Anatomage Table

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/a$80K-100K hardware.

VirtaMed

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aEnterprise capital purchase.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecAnatomage TableVirtaMed
Free tierYesYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/aCH

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full surgical ai comparison

Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.