MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs Circle Cardiovascular Imaging

Circle serves the lab that reads cardiac MR and CT, and Butterfly serves the emergency physician or hospitalist scanning at the bedside. Circle's cvi42 covers strain, mapping and calcium, plus a coronary plaque module cleared as K251027 in October 2025. The vendor's logo list names Mayo Clinic Rochester, Cleveland Clinic and Massachusetts General. Its regulatory page shows ISO 13485 and MDSAP certificates from BSI, and its partner page names integrated solutions with GE Healthcare and Siemens Healthineers.

Butterfly sells the probe and the apps around it. Core membership is $299 a year plus the probe (currency not stated), with one seat and two probes online. A one-time Advanced option costs $1,500 plus probe, also currency not stated, with software access guaranteed for five years and no recurring fees required.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

Circle Cardiovascular Imaging logo

Circle Cardiovascular Imaging

by Circle Cardiovascular Imaging Inc. · founded 2007

cvi42 cardiac MR and CT software with FDA-cleared AI coronary plaque analysis and StrokeSENS acute stroke tools.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • Core $299 a year plus probe, currency not stated
  • One seat and two probes online on Core
Read the full Butterfly Network review

Circle Cardiovascular Imaging

  • Cardiac MR and CT analysis in cvi42
  • Coronary plaque software cleared as K251027
  • Integrated solutions with GE and Siemens
Read the full Circle Cardiovascular Imaging review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

Circle Cardiovascular Imaging

42of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and Circle Cardiovascular Imaging
DimensionButterfly NetworkCircle Cardiovascular ImagingDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 100 / 10+6
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.20 / 18.2+12.7
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.80 / 7.8+7.8
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

Circle Cardiovascular Imaging

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Circle Cardiovascular Imaging

FDA decisions

Show 7 more

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkCircle Cardiovascular Imaging
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2007
HQn/aCA

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.