MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs Eyenuk

Two sets of accuracy figures sit behind EyeArt. The Eyenuk home page claims 96% sensitivity and 88% specificity for more than mild diabetic retinopathy, while Eyenuk's 2023 press release on trial NCT04984200 gives 94.4% and 91.1%. The FDA record shows K200667 (August 2020) and K223357 (June 2023), and the FAQ lists Canon CR-2 AF, Canon CR-2 Plus AF and Topcon NW400 cameras. The FAQ also says EyeArt returns a DR level and report with no physician overread, that it is integrated with multiple major EHRs including Epic, and that billing runs under CPT 92229.

A diabetes clinic grading fundus photographs shops for Eyenuk. An ophthalmology practice weighing a pocket probe shops for Butterfly, and a 2024 Indian Journal of Ophthalmology study compared the iQ+ with B-scan for retinal detachment.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

Eyenuk logo

Eyenuk

by Eyenuk, Inc.

EyeArt is FDA-cleared autonomous AI that grades diabetic retinopathy from retinal photos, with no physician overread needed.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • iQ+ compared with B-scan for retinal detachment
  • Probe pairs with compatible iPhone or Android
Read the full Butterfly Network review

Eyenuk

  • Two 510(k)s, K200667 and K223357
  • FAQ says no physician overread needed
  • FAQ names Epic among integrated EHRs
Read the full Eyenuk review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

Eyenuk

71of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and Eyenuk
DimensionButterfly NetworkEyenukDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 1010 / 10-4
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.218.2 / 18.2-5.5
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.87.8 / 7.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

Eyenuk

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkEyenuk
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedYes
SOC 2 Type IIYesYes
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/aUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.