MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs HeartFlow

Heartflow trades on Nasdaq as HTFL. Its 10-K puts 2025 revenue at $176.0M, of which FFRct was 98%, and describes revenue as pay-per-use. Plaque Analysis had 489 US accounts at the end of 2025, and processing runs in the vendor's cloud from a coronary CT angiogram. Its first FFRct clearance was a De Novo, DEN130045, in November 2014, and later versions and Plaque Analysis went through 510(k). Heartflow's homepage shows no price.

Butterfly's iQ3 trade-in credit runs up to $1,500 (currency not stated) with no end date. The vendor's Affirm example is $3,119 over 36 months at about $87 a month and 0% APR, credit-dependent, currency not stated. A service reading coronary CTAs for flow assessment and plaque quantification needs Heartflow, while a small cardiology practice buying its first handheld needs the probe.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

HeartFlow logo

HeartFlow

by HeartFlow · founded 2007

Coronary CT angiogram analysis: CT-derived fractional flow reserve (FFRct), plaque analysis and a CCTA reading aid.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • Trade-in credit up to $1,500, currency not stated
  • Affirm example $87 monthly, currency not stated
Read the full Butterfly Network review

HeartFlow

  • FFRct and plaque analysis from coronary CTA
  • Pay-per-use revenue model per the 10-K
  • Nasdaq-listed as HTFL
Read the full HeartFlow review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

HeartFlow

66of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and HeartFlow
DimensionButterfly NetworkHeartFlowDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 100 / 10+6
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.212.7 / 18.20
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.87.8 / 7.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

HeartFlow

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Per studyn/an/aNo public list price. The 10-K describes revenue as pay-per-use.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkHeartFlow
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2007
HQn/aUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.