MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs icometrix

icometrix goes to the memory clinic tracking ARIA on amyloid-targeting therapy, and Butterfly's organization tiers go to a health system building a point-of-care ultrasound program. icometrix's pages list icobrain modules for multiple sclerosis, dementia, epilepsy, stroke and traumatic brain injury. The vendor and GE say K240712, from November 2024, covers ARIA-E and ARIA-H detection on MRI, and the vendor points to AMA CPT III codes 0865T and 0866T. GE HealthCare announced in September 2025 that it would acquire icometrix. icometrix's own banner reads "icometrix is now a GE HealthCare company", and GE says it intends to distribute icobrain on all vendors' MRI systems.

On Butterfly's side, Enterprise adds Active Directory, fleet management, and patient record and imaging archive integration. Professional and Enterprise add AI-enabled Documentation and QA Agents. Those tiers say "Inquire today", and icometrix says "Speak with an expert".

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

icometrix logo

icometrix

by icometrix NV · founded 2011

FDA-cleared icobrain AI quantifies brain structures and lesions on MRI and CT and tracks changes over time.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • Enterprise tier adds Active Directory and fleet management
  • AI Documentation and QA Agents in upper tiers
Read the full Butterfly Network review

icometrix

  • icobrain aria for ARIA-E and ARIA-H, K240712
  • CPT III codes 0865T and 0866T
  • GE HealthCare acquisition announced September 2025
Read the full icometrix review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

icometrix

68of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and icometrix
DimensionButterfly NetworkicometrixDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 100 / 10+6
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.218.2 / 18.2-5.5
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.83.9 / 7.8+3.9
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

icometrix

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly Networkicometrix
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2011
HQn/aBE

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.