MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs RapidAI

An independent 2024 AJNR paper compared CT perfusion output from RapidAI and Viz.ai in acute ischemic stroke and found the volumes not interchangeable. That matters to a stroke program choosing a platform, and RapidAI sells to such programs on an enterprise license at hospital level, with Rapid LVO cleared as K200941 and modules for CT perfusion, ASPECTS and ICH. The homepage claims use in 2,500+ hospitals, which is a marketing figure.

Butterfly's Gestational Age Tool, cleared as K252148 in March 2026, is aimed at an obstetric practice. It needs an iQ+ or iQ3 plus the Advanced membership, which costs $420 a year plus the probe (currency not stated). RapidAI's license is written for a stroke program reading CT, and the Gestational Age Tool for a practice scanning pregnancies with a handheld probe.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

RapidAI logo

RapidAI

by RapidAI · founded 2017

Imaging platform for stroke, aneurysm, aortic and pulmonary embolism care, with CT perfusion, LVO and ICH modules.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • Gestational Age Tool cleared as K252148
  • Needs iQ+ or iQ3 plus Advanced membership
Read the full Butterfly Network review

RapidAI

  • Rapid LVO triage cleared as K200941
  • CT perfusion, ASPECTS and ICH modules
  • Hospital-level enterprise license
Read the full RapidAI review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

RapidAI

65of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and RapidAI
DimensionButterfly NetworkRapidAIDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 100 / 10+6
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.212.7 / 18.20
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.83.9 / 7.8+3.9
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 55 / 5-2.5
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

RapidAI

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aEnterprise.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkRapidAI
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2017
HQn/aUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.