MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs Viz.ai

A bedside ultrasound program and a stroke network are different buyers. Butterfly Network lists a probe and individual memberships, and Viz.ai is sold to health systems after a demo request.

An emergency physician or a small ultrasound program buying a handheld whole-body probe pays $3,899 for the iQ3 (currency not stated), which carries a 3-year warranty. The Advanced Technology membership at $420 per year (currency not stated) adds the Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter tools.

Viz.ai pushes suspected large-vessel occlusions, hemorrhages, aneurysms and pulmonary emboli to care-team phones. The vendor's July 2026 release claims 2,000 hospitals and 13 FDA clearances, while openFDA shows 10 510(k)s and 2 De Novos. A 2025 meta-analysis of 12 studies and 15,595 patients found shorter door-to-groin times and no significant difference in clinical outcomes.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

Viz.ai logo

Viz.ai

by Viz.ai · founded 2016

Care coordination platform with FDA-cleared imaging AI for stroke, vascular and cardiac conditions.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • iQ3 probe $3,899 one-time, currency not stated
  • Core membership $299 per year, currency not stated
  • Handheld whole-body ultrasound at the bedside
Read the full Butterfly Network review

Viz.ai

  • Stroke, aneurysm, PE and aortic alerts to care teams
  • Meta-analysis shows shorter door-to-groin times
  • Sold to health systems after a demo request
Read the full Viz.ai review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

Viz.ai

89of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and Viz.ai
DimensionButterfly NetworkViz.aiDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 1010 / 10-4
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.218.2 / 18.2-5.5
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.87.8 / 7.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 1212 / 12-3.6
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

Viz.ai

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Sold to health systems after a demo request.

Evidence

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkViz.ai
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedYes
SOC 2 Type IIYesYes
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2016
HQn/aUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.