C-SATS vs OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
C-SATS and OTTAVA share a parent, Johnson & Johnson MedTech, and nothing in their buying. A robot purchase and a video-grading platform go to different people.
C-SATS came in through the April 2018 acquisition of a University of Washington spinout. It takes video from minimally invasive cases into a cloud library where expert surgeons and trained reviewers grade technique, which suits a residency director benchmarking trainees. C-SATS claims HIPAA compliance and a HITRUST CSF certified library, and states no FDA status or EHR integration. A hospital shopping for a robot finds nothing to buy there.
OTTAVA is a table-integrated soft-tissue robot, FDA De Novo authorized in July 2026 for procedures including gastric bypass, cholecystectomy and appendectomy. J&J describes Polyphonic as an open digital ecosystem bringing learning, media and data insights to OTTAVA teams. It fits a hospital with a general surgery service and a robot capital budget. A department that only wants resident skills graded gets nothing from a robot. Rollout starts with select US customers, an inguinal hernia trial is ongoing, and the authorization rested on an IDE study that began in late 2024.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

C-SATS
by J&J MedTech
Surgical video review and analytics platform.

OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
by J&J MedTech
OTTAVA, Johnson & Johnson MedTech's soft-tissue surgical robot (FDA De Novo, July 2026), with its Polyphonic digital layer.
When to pick each one
C-SATS
- Cloud library of recorded minimally invasive cases
- Benchmarks trainee skills over time
- Enterprise quote, no public price
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
- FDA De Novo authorized soft-tissue robot, July 2026
- Polyphonic learning and data layer for OTTAVA teams
- Capital sale, no public price
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
C-SATS
36of 100
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
35of 100
| Dimension | C-SATS | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 18 | 18 / 18 | -18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 0 / 21 | +14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 3.9 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | +3.9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | +2.5 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
C-SATS
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | n/a | n/a | Enterprise. |
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Capital sale. |
Evidence
C-SATS
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
3 PubMed records name C-SATS.
- Evaluating the evaluators: does C-SATS measure up? (opens in new tab)
- Barriers to the adoption of routine surgical video recording: a mixed-methods qualitative study of a real-world implementation of a video recording platform. (opens in new tab)
- Cloud Based AI-Driven Video Analytics (CAVs) in Laparoscopic Surgery: A Step Closer to a Virtual Portfolio. (opens in new tab)
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
FDA decisions
DEN250068 (opens in new tab)De Novo2026-07-21
OTTAVA Robotic Surgical System (applicant Auris Health, Inc.)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | C-SATS | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.
