MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Elicit vs Perplexity Pro

Elicit Pro is $49 per user per month billed as $588 annually, against $17 per month billed annually for Perplexity Pro. The gap buys a systematic review workflow that screens 5,000 papers across 20 columns, plus API access. Scale is $169 per user per month billed as $2,028 annually, and Enterprise screens 40,000 papers with SSO and SAML. Elicit reports SOC 2 Type II.

A resident wanting quick cited answers from several models, with Deep research, is Perplexity's buyer. A solo resident without a review to screen gets little from Elicit Pro at $588 a year against $204.

A review team wants Elicit as a helper beside database searches. A systematic review of 18 studies put Elicit's average sensitivity at 37.9%, and a test of four Cochrane-linked reviews found it located 39.5% of included studies against 94.5% for database searches. Elicit's own evaluation reports 95.0% search recall on 994 Cochrane reviews.

Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Elicit logo

Elicit

by Elicit Research, PBC · founded 2021

AI research assistant that searches 138M+ papers and 545,000 clinical trials, builds cited reports and extracts data for literature reviews.

Perplexity Pro logo

Perplexity Pro

by Perplexity AI · founded 2022

General-purpose answer engine with inline citations and Deep research. Perplexity does not market it as a clinical tool.

When to pick each one

Elicit

  • Review workflow screens 5,000 papers
  • Pro $49 per user monthly, billed annually
  • SOC 2 Type II reported
Read the full Elicit review

Perplexity Pro

  • Cited answers from several AI models
  • Pro $17 per month, billed annually
  • Deep research on Pro
Read the full Perplexity Pro review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Elicit

37of 100

Competitive

Perplexity Pro

53of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Elicit and Perplexity Pro
DimensionElicitPerplexity ProDifference
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 218.4 / 21-8.4
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 60 / 60
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market4.2 / 64.2 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Elicit

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Basicn/an/aLimited usage for Research Agent and Research Reports. Zotero import.
Pron/a$588Per user. Systematic review workflow that screens 5,000 papers, 20 columns, API access. Monthly-billed price not shown.
Scalen/a$2,028Per user. Monthly-billed price not shown.
Enterprisen/an/aCustom. Screens 40,000 papers, SSO and SAML, single-tenancy, no training on your data by default.

Perplexity Pro

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aA free tier exists.
Pron/a$204The monthly-billed price is not shown. Limited-time +$40 free Computer credits listed.
Maxn/a$2,004Adds expert-level research. The monthly-billed price is not shown.

Evidence

Elicit

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecElicitPerplexity Pro
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20212022
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full research tools comparison

Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.