OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) vs Proximie
Proximie lists Johnson & Johnson, Medtronic, Olympus and Stryker among its partners. It claims 500+ facilities in 50 countries and 40+ device companies, with HCA, Providence and the NHS as named customers. It sells recording, remote collaboration and analytics across operating rooms, and states no FDA, CE or UKCA status for its AI analytics. OTTAVA is a soft-tissue robot, FDA De Novo authorized in July 2026 for ten general surgery procedures, sold as a capital item with an inguinal hernia trial ongoing.
Consider an OR director building a data layer for rooms that hold robots and cameras from several makers. J&J describes Polyphonic as an open digital ecosystem for OTTAVA teams and names no other devices it covers. Proximie does claim the multi-vendor reach. For that mixed fleet OTTAVA is the narrower fit. A hospital that only wants a robot has no reason to look at Proximie first.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
by J&J MedTech
OTTAVA, Johnson & Johnson MedTech's soft-tissue surgical robot (FDA De Novo, July 2026), with its Polyphonic digital layer.

Proximie
by Proximie
Operating-room platform for remote surgical collaboration, case recording and analytics. "the operating system for intelligent operating rooms".
When to pick each one
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
- FDA De Novo authorized soft-tissue robot
- Polyphonic described for OTTAVA teams
- Capital sale, no public price
Proximie
- Case video library and remote collaboration
- Claims 500+ facilities and 40+ device companies
- SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 badges
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
35of 100
Proximie
33of 100
| Dimension | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) | Proximie | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 0 / 18 | +18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | -14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 3.9 / 7.8 | -3.9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 6 / 12 | +2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Capital sale. |
Proximie
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The pricing page returns a 404. |
Evidence
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
FDA decisions
DEN250068 (opens in new tab)De Novo2026-07-21
OTTAVA Robotic Surgical System (applicant Auris Health, Inc.)
Proximie
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name Proximie.
- Proximie in the operating theatre: evaluation of a virtual operating platform for medical student education. (opens in new tab)
- Evaluating the ability of students to learn and utilize a novel telepresence platform, Proximie. (opens in new tab)
- Video labelling robot-assisted radical prostatectomy and the role of artificial intelligence (AI): training a novice. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) | Proximie |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | UK |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.
