Osso VR vs Proximie
A hospital or training program that wants cases recorded, watched remotely and kept in a searchable library buys Proximie, and its homepage lists HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 badges. A health-system education team buys Osso for VR scenarios with debrief dashboards, with nursing first and orthopedic residency programs as the surgical use. Osso sends price requests to a contact form and says headsets cost extra. Proximie's model, per OR or per case, is unstated. Osso's three randomized trials measure skill on simulated procedures, and one was financed by Osso. Proximie's studies cover medical student education and feasibility, with no patient outcomes. Neither company states FDA status. An education team that wants trainees performing the steps of a procedure with immediate feedback gets less from Proximie, which shows real cases to watch.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026
When to pick each one
Osso VR
- VR procedural practice with immediate feedback
- Mixed-reality surgical app for Apple Vision Pro
- Collaborative scenarios for nursing teams
Proximie
- Remote proctoring and searchable case library
- SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 badges
- NHS program across 104 operating theatres, per press
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Osso VR
48of 100
Proximie
33of 100
| Dimension | Osso VR | Proximie | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 18 | 0 / 18 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 21 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | +6.3 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 7.8 / 7.8 | 3.9 / 7.8 | +3.9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 6 / 12 | +2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Osso VR
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price, pricing is requested through the website. Headsets cost extra. |
Proximie
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The pricing page returns a 404. |
Evidence
Osso VR
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name Osso VR.
- The Utility of Virtual Reality in Orthopedic Surgical Training. (opens in new tab)
- Randomized Trial of a Virtual Reality Tool to Teach Surgical Technique for Tibial Shaft Fracture Intramedullary Nailing. (opens in new tab)
- Does Virtual Reality Improve Procedural Completion and Accuracy in an Intramedullary Tibial Nail Procedure? A Randomized Control Trial. (opens in new tab)
Proximie
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name Proximie.
- Proximie in the operating theatre: evaluation of a virtual operating platform for medical student education. (opens in new tab)
- Evaluating the ability of students to learn and utilize a novel telepresence platform, Proximie. (opens in new tab)
- Video labelling robot-assisted radical prostatectomy and the role of artificial intelligence (AI): training a novice. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Osso VR | Proximie |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | UK |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.


