MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Osso VR vs VirtaMed

A skills lab that needs laparoscopy, gynecology or urology stations buys VirtaMed, and a nursing education department buys Osso. The overlap is orthopedics. VirtaMed's ArthroS covers knee, shoulder, hip and ankle arthroscopy and is a capital purchase through CAE Healthcare as distributor. Osso runs on off-the-shelf headsets, which cost extra, and both vendors quote privately. Osso lists three randomized trials of its platform in tibial nailing and knee replacement, with skill ratings measured on simulated procedures. VirtaMed's papers include a 14-resident trial in which ArthroS Hip VR matched an immersive VR rival, and a crossover study in which trainees improved on LaparoS, LapSim and LapMentor III. For an orthopedic residency program whose need is arthroscopy practice, ArthroS addresses it directly and Osso's trials sit in other procedures. VirtaMed says its simulators use original instruments and that ArthroS has been in the Swiss Society for Orthopedics and Traumatology board exam since 2013.

Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Osso VR logo

Osso VR

by Osso VR

VR procedural-skills training for healthcare, including nurse and surgical training.

VirtaMed logo

VirtaMed

by VirtaMed AG

Surgical training simulators with real instruments for arthroscopy, laparoscopy, gynecology, urology and robotic surgery.

When to pick each one

Osso VR

  • Software on off-the-shelf headsets
  • Individual and collaborative nursing scenarios
  • Johnson & Johnson Institute partner since 2019
Read the full Osso VR review

VirtaMed

  • Laparoscopy, gynecology and urology simulators
  • Original instruments, per VirtaMed
  • ArthroS in Swiss orthopedic board exam, per vendor
Read the full VirtaMed review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Osso VR

48of 100

Solid choice

VirtaMed

37of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Osso VR and VirtaMed
DimensionOsso VRVirtaMedDifference
FDA clearance0 / 180 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 1.40 / 1.40
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 0.80 / 0.80
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 2114.7 / 21+6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.87.8 / 7.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency2.5 / 55 / 5-2.5
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Osso VR

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price, pricing is requested through the website. Headsets cost extra.

VirtaMed

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aEnterprise capital purchase.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecOsso VRVirtaMed
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/aCH

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full surgical ai comparison

Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.