MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Perplexity Pro vs ResearchRabbit

A PhD student keeping a rolling library for a thesis should start with ResearchRabbit. ResearchRabbit+ is $10 per month billed annually or $12.50 billed monthly, with 300 seed articles, advanced search controls and Signals alerts, and the free plan allows 50 seed articles. Related work comes back from the papers you add, through citations, authors and semantic similarity. For the thesis student, Perplexity Pro is the loser.

Perplexity Pro is $17 per month billed annually and answers a typed question with inline citations, Deep research and a choice of models. That suits a clinician who needs a cited answer to a question, and ResearchRabbit is the wrong buy for them. Perplexity does not market Pro as clinical. Sources disagree on whether any tier signs a BAA, so patient information stays out. In a 2026 JMIR test of nine free AI tools on 15 retracted articles, the free version of Perplexity answered all five questions correctly for 5 articles and put a retracted paper into topic overviews in 6 cases.

Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Perplexity Pro logo

Perplexity Pro

by Perplexity AI · founded 2022

General-purpose answer engine with inline citations and Deep research. Perplexity does not market it as a clinical tool.

ResearchRabbit logo

ResearchRabbit

by ResearchRabbit

Finds related papers from seed articles and shows them as citation and similarity maps.

When to pick each one

Perplexity Pro

  • Pro is $17 per month, billed annually
  • Deep research and model selection
  • Vendor says every answer has inline citations
Read the full Perplexity Pro review

ResearchRabbit

  • Free plan with 50 seed articles
  • ResearchRabbit+ is $10 per month, billed annually
  • Signals alerts and 300 seed articles when paid
Read the full ResearchRabbit review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Perplexity Pro

53of 100

Solid choice

ResearchRabbit

24of 100

Niche fit
Score by dimension for Perplexity Pro and ResearchRabbit
DimensionPerplexity ProResearchRabbitDifference
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 210 / 21+8.4
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 60 / 60
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 126 / 12+2.4
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market4.2 / 60 / 6+4.2

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Perplexity Pro

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aA free tier exists.
Pron/a$204The monthly-billed price is not shown. Limited-time +$40 free Computer credits listed.
Maxn/a$2,004Adds expert-level research. The monthly-billed price is not shown.

ResearchRabbit

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aUp to 50 seed articles, unlimited searches across 310M+ articles, unlimited library and shared collections.
ResearchRabbit+, annualn/a$120Up to 300 seed articles, advanced search controls, multiple projects and Signals alerts. Country discount codes are available.
ResearchRabbit+, monthly$12.5n/aSame features as the annual plan.
Institutionn/an/aContact for pricing. Adds LibKey integration, user management and usage statistics.

Evidence

ResearchRabbit

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecPerplexity ProResearchRabbit
Free tierYesYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded2022n/a
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full research tools comparison

Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.