Perplexity Pro vs SciSpace
A fellow pulling study characteristics into a table for a systematic review has a clear pick. SciSpace lists data extraction, Systematic Research and search over Google Scholar, PubMed and arXiv, and Premium showed $12 per month billed annually with $20 struck through. Perplexity Pro at $17 per month billed annually sells Deep research, model selection and inline citations, so it is out for that fellow. Every extracted cell still needs checking against the paper, since SciSpace has no published accuracy evaluation. Premium carries 1,200 monthly credits, and unlimited monthly usage starts at Advanced, which showed $70 per month billed annually with $90 struck through under the same sale.
An attending who wants sources behind a clinical question gets Deep research and inline citations from Perplexity Pro. SciSpace is not built for a clinician who needs a referenced answer at the point of care, so that attending gets less from it.
Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Perplexity Pro
by Perplexity AI · founded 2022
General-purpose answer engine with inline citations and Deep research. Perplexity does not market it as a clinical tool.
SciSpace
by SciSpace (Typeset)
AI research assistant for paper search, literature reviews, chat with PDF and data extraction.
When to pick each one
Perplexity Pro
- Pro is $17 per month, billed annually
- Deep research and model selection
SciSpace
- Premium $12 per month billed annually, $20 struck through
- Lists data extraction and Systematic Research
- Searches Google Scholar, PubMed and arXiv
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Perplexity Pro
53of 100
SciSpace
53of 100
| Dimension | Perplexity Pro | SciSpace | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 8.4 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | -6.3 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 6 / 12 | +2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 4.2 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +4.2 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Perplexity Pro
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | n/a | n/a | A free tier exists. |
| Pro | n/a | $204 | The monthly-billed price is not shown. Limited-time +$40 free Computer credits listed. |
| Max | n/a | $2,004 | Adds expert-level research. The monthly-billed price is not shown. |
SciSpace
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | n/a | n/a | Free sign-up. Limits are not shown on the pricing page. |
| Premium | n/a | $144 | 1,200 monthly credits. Shown with $20 struck through. All plans have a 24-hour money-back guarantee. |
| Advanced | n/a | $840 | Unlimited monthly usage. Shown with $90 struck through. |
| Max | n/a | $1,920 | More parallel chats and priority support. Shown with $200 struck through. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | Contact for pricing. |
Evidence
Perplexity Pro
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Perplexity Pro.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Perplexity Pro | SciSpace |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2022 | n/a |
| HQ | US | IN |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full research tools comparison
Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.
