MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

ResearchRabbit vs Scite

Scite has no free plan. Basic costs $12 per month billed yearly and Pro $40 per month billed yearly, each with a 7-day trial. ResearchRabbit has a free plan at $0 and ResearchRabbit+ at $10 per month billed annually, and librarian Aaron Tay called ResearchRabbit's interface less intuitive than it could be. Scite's Smart Citations label each citing sentence as supporting, contrasting or mentioning a finding, and library guides from Calgary, Einstein and Florida State warn that the labels can be wrong and the citing passage should be read. ResearchRabbit grows a library outward from seed papers and adds Signals alerts on the paid plan. A hospital librarian checking the contested trials behind a recommendation has a reason to pay for Scite. A thesis student whose argument rests on one contested finding gets related papers from ResearchRabbit but no view of how later work treated that finding, so ResearchRabbit comes up short for that student.

Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

ResearchRabbit logo

ResearchRabbit

by ResearchRabbit

Finds related papers from seed articles and shows them as citation and similarity maps.

Scite logo

Scite

by Scite (Research Solutions) · founded 2018

Research search and AI assistant with Smart Citations, which show whether later papers support or contrast a cited finding.

When to pick each one

ResearchRabbit

  • Free plan at $0, no time limit
  • Builds a library outward from seed papers
  • Institution plan adds LibKey and usage statistics
Read the full ResearchRabbit review

Scite

  • Smart Citations label supporting and contrasting papers
  • Basic at $12 per month, billed yearly
  • Connects to Zotero, Claude and ChatGPT
Read the full Scite review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

ResearchRabbit

24of 100

Niche fit

Scite

81of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for ResearchRabbit and Scite
DimensionResearchRabbitSciteDifference
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 2114.7 / 21-14.7
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 66 / 6-6
Funding & adoption signal6 / 128.4 / 12-2.4
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

ResearchRabbit

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aUp to 50 seed articles, unlimited searches across 310M+ articles, unlimited library and shared collections.
ResearchRabbit+, annualn/a$120Up to 300 seed articles, advanced search controls, multiple projects and Signals alerts. Country discount codes are available.
ResearchRabbit+, monthly$12.5n/aSame features as the annual plan.
Institutionn/an/aContact for pricing. Adds LibKey integration, user management and usage statistics.

Scite

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Basicn/a$1447-day free trial. The pricing page lists no free plan.
Pron/a$4807-day free trial.
Enterprisen/an/aCustom pricing based on users and usage.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecResearchRabbitScite
Free tierYesYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2018
HQn/aUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full research tools comparison

Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.