MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

SciSpace vs Scite

At its $20 list price (the $12 annual-billing sale closed on October 14, 2026) SciSpace Premium sits above Scite Basic at $12 per month billed yearly. SciSpace Premium covers search over Google Scholar, PubMed and arXiv, chat with PDF, literature review and data extraction, with 1,200 monthly credits and a 24-hour money-back guarantee. Scite's Smart Citations label later papers as supporting, contrasting or mentioning a finding, behind a 7-day trial, and library guides caution that the labels can be wrong and coverage uneven by field. A clinician-researcher confirming that a cited trial was not contradicted later has the case for Scite. A medical student writing a first review has it for SciSpace, whose free sign-up costs nothing to start, which sinks Scite for that student, since it lists no drafting tools.

Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

SciSpace logo

SciSpace

by SciSpace (Typeset)

AI research assistant for paper search, literature reviews, chat with PDF and data extraction.

Scite logo

Scite

by Scite (Research Solutions) · founded 2018

Research search and AI assistant with Smart Citations, which show whether later papers support or contrast a cited finding.

When to pick each one

SciSpace

  • Searches Google Scholar, PubMed and arXiv
  • Chat with PDF and data extraction
  • Free sign-up and 24-hour money-back guarantee
Read the full SciSpace review

Scite

  • Smart Citations label supporting and contrasting papers
  • Basic at $12 per month, billed yearly
  • Pro at $40 per month, billed yearly
Read the full Scite review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

SciSpace

53of 100

Solid choice

Scite

81of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for SciSpace and Scite
DimensionSciSpaceSciteDifference
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2114.7 / 210
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 66 / 6-6
Funding & adoption signal6 / 128.4 / 12-2.4
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

SciSpace

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aFree sign-up. Limits are not shown on the pricing page.
Premiumn/a$1441,200 monthly credits. Shown with $20 struck through. All plans have a 24-hour money-back guarantee.
Advancedn/a$840Unlimited monthly usage. Shown with $90 struck through.
Maxn/a$1,920More parallel chats and priority support. Shown with $200 struck through.
Enterprisen/an/aContact for pricing.

Scite

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Basicn/a$1447-day free trial. The pricing page lists no free plan.
Pron/a$4807-day free trial.
Enterprisen/an/aCustom pricing based on users and usage.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecSciSpaceScite
Free tierYesYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2018
HQINUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full research tools comparison

Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.