Sectra Pathology vs Vesta
A hospital pathology service that wants one viewer for pathology and radiology images is Sectra's buyer, as its page puts it. Sectra IDS7 handles worklists, reporting and image review, and Sectra does not make the AI. Third-party apps come through its Amplifier marketplace on a single contract, and Sectra says 50+ pathology AI vendors are integrated. openFDA lists two 510(k)s for the Digital Pathology Module, K193054 from March 2020 and K232208 from April 2024. Sectra's press release says the 2024 clearance covers primary diagnosis of FFPE slides scanned on a Leica Aperio GT 450 DX. Sectra shows no public price, only a contact form.
Vesta is a separate purchase. Valar says the urologist places the order, that it works from routine H&E slides, and that the report comes about 3 days after the sample reaches its laboratory. The pathology service signs the Sectra contract, and the urologist with a bladder cancer decision to make orders Vesta.
Pathology · Reviewed November 2, 2026
Sectra Pathology
by Sectra
Digital pathology image management (Sectra IDS7) with a marketplace for third-party AI apps. Sectra does not make the AI.

Vesta
by Valar Labs
Lab test run in a CLIA lab: AI on routine bladder cancer slides predicts BCG response, ordered by urologists.
When to pick each one
Sectra Pathology
- Two FDA 510(k)s for the Digital Pathology Module
- Third-party AI apps on one Amplifier contract
- One viewer for pathology and radiology images
Vesta
- Valar says reports take about 3 days
- Works from routine H&E slides, per Valar
- Bladder cancer BCG response prediction
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Sectra Pathology
33of 100
Vesta
16of 100
| Dimension | Sectra Pathology | Vesta | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 0 / 18 | +18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 8.4 / 21 | -8.4 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Sectra Pathology
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Contact form only. |
Vesta
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Evidence
Sectra Pathology
FDA decisions
K232208 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-04-16
Sectra Digital Pathology Module (Version 3.3)
K193054 (opens in new tab)510(k)2020-03-31
Sectra Digital Pathology Module
Vesta
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Vesta.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Sectra Pathology | Vesta |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | SE | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full pathology comparison
Digital pathology workflows with FDA-cleared cancer detection (prostate, breast, colon), IHC scoring (HER2, Ki67), and AI-powered image management. Tempus, PathAI, Proscia dominate.
