- $19.99-119.99/mo.
- Attested
- Not disclosed
- —
- —
- US
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance7.8/25
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- Clinical Integration0/13
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength0/20
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market8.4/18
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Sentiment & Transparency2.5/18.5
Pricing on request, no public amounts
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/12
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA8/13
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- EHR integrations (count)0/7
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/4
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/2
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers0/14
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/6
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal8/12
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Years in market0/6
Founded year not recorded
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/14
No clinician sentiment data available
- Pricing transparency3/5
Pricing on request, no public amounts
DAP, SOAP, BIRP, GIRP notes generated from session audio with strong solo-therapist following.
$19.99-69.99/mo. HIPAA-compliant. Direct referral program for therapists.
Bottom line
Mentalyc is an AI note generator built for therapists, turning a recorded, uploaded, dictated or typed session into progress notes, treatment plan updates and alliance scores. It suits a solo therapist or small practice who writes SOAP or DAP notes by hand in the evening and will pay $14.99 to $99.99 a month on annual billing to stop. It is a weaker fit for anyone who needs a documented independent accuracy study, because no peer-reviewed validation is listed. The group plan is priced per seat, with a listed saving of USD 120 per seat each year, but the seat price itself is not published on the page. A practice that needs deep EHR write-back should test the export flow on a trial note before paying.
What does Mentalyc do?
The homepage describes it as "AI for therapists: Be fully present. Leave with everything done." and says it works "with any EHR, or none" (mentalyc.com). In practice, the therapist captures a session by recording telehealth or in-person audio with consent, uploading a file, dictating or typing a summary. Mentalyc then drafts the documentation.
Note formats are SOAP, DAP and intake, with "medical necessity documented in every note". Pro adds EMDR, play therapy, psychiatry, child, couple and family notes, supervision notes and a template builder. Super adds group therapy notes, one per member.
AI treatment plans with SMART goals appear from Basic upward, with progress notes that track those goals. Pro adds progress tracking, symptom trends and automatic CPT codes.
The Alliance Genie scores the therapeutic alliance after each session, as a score on Basic and a full report with quotes on Pro. Mentalyc also recommends client worksheets after each session and lets therapists share session summaries with clients.
Mentalyc sits on the provider side of mental health: it writes the therapist's documentation and does not face the client.
Who is behind it?
Mentalyc Inc. is based in San Francisco, according to Crunchbase, PitchBook and CB Insights. Maria Szandrach (CEO) and Georgi Urumov founded it in 2021.
Aggregators report pre-seed funding from April 2022. The totals differ: $100K at Crustdata, $200K at CB Insights (a convertible note) and $210K at PitchBook. Named investors are Berkeley SkyDeck, the Berkeley SkyDeck Fund, the Berlin Innovation Agency and Entrepreneurs First. Crustdata lists about 24 employees. No later round or ownership change is listed.
The vendor's own claim is "Trusted by 30,000+ mental health professionals", a user count that no independent source confirms.
How does it handle privacy?
Mentalyc's security page states: "Mentalyc meets HIPAA, PHIPA and SOC 2 Type II requirements" (mentalyc.com/security). The page shows no auditor report, and the date and scope of the SOC 2 Type II examination are not stated.
"Every account is covered by our BAA, created at signup." Data is encrypted with AES-256 on AWS. Audio is deleted once the note is ready, transcripts are anonymized, and the vendor says it "never trains AI models". A client AI consent template is provided.
HITRUST and FDA status are not stated.
Does it work with my EHR?
The vendor says it "works with every EHR" through one-click export or copy and paste. No named direct integration is listed. The competitor Twofold says limited EHR integration may force manual entry, and Trustpilot reviewers say editing and EHR transfer could be smoother. Treat Mentalyc as a note writer you paste from, and check the export on a trial note before paying.
What does it cost?
The four individual plans are Mini, Basic, Pro and Super, running from $19.99 to $119.99 per month on monthly billing and $14.99 to $99.99 per month on annual billing, as of October 2026. A 14-day free trial needs no credit card. Note allowances rise with the tier: 40 notes on Mini, 100 on Basic, 160 on Pro and 330 on Super. Annual billing saves $5 a month on Mini and $20 a month on Super against the monthly rate. A group practice plan is priced per seat.
What does the evidence say?
No peer-reviewed study of Mentalyc is listed, and no community reviews are published. The ratings the vendor cites, 4.7 out of 5 from 1,376 ratings and 4.8 on G2, are the vendor's figures. The Capterra page notes that some reviews were solicited with an incentive. Time-saving testimonials, such as note time dropping from 45 to 15 minutes, are selected by the vendor.
No accuracy comparison against therapist-written notes is listed. For a clinical document that may end up in an audit or a legal record, the therapist remains the reviewer of every note.
What do users complain about?
Capterra and Software Advice reviewers report recordings lost before a note could be written, recent glitches that delayed note retrieval, no bulk download of transcripts or notes, and no way to regenerate a processed note with a different template.
Trustpilot reviewers praise time savings, better note quality and responsive support. A Reddit user quoted by Twofold, after eight months of use, said they like it overall, have had some issues and save time.
Twofold also reports occasional errors with subtle psychological terms. Twofold sells a competing product, and Mentalyc's blog in turn criticizes competitors, so both sides of that exchange are marketing.
Who should use Mentalyc, and who should not?
A solo therapist writing notes every evening, in any EHR that accepts pasted text, can use the Basic or Pro plan to cut note-writing time. The Pro plan at $59.99 per month on annual billing covers 160 notes and adds the alliance report and automatic CPT codes. The 14-day trial is long enough to test lost-recording risk with real sessions: record two or three consented sessions, confirm the notes arrive, and paste one into your EHR to see how the formatting survives. A therapist writing more than 100 notes a month will outgrow the Basic allowance of 100 notes and should price Pro or Super instead.
Look elsewhere if you need bulk export, independent accuracy evidence, or a direct EHR integration. JotPsych is the closest scribe peer for therapy notes, and online comparisons put Mentalyc beside Upheal, Blueprint, TherapyNotes AI and Eleos. The comparison articles are written by competitors.
Editorial review last generated October 14, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
Free tier only, no paid plans publicly disclosed.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | — | — | $19.99-119.99/mo. |
| Super | — | — | 330 notes per month. $99.99 per month on annual billing |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 14, 2026.
What deploys cleanly
Carries HIPAA per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.
Common questions about Mentalyc
Answers below cover the most-searched clinician questions for Mentalyc in 2026. Updated as vendor docs and pricing change.





