- Not disclosed
- Not disclosed
- —
- —
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance0/6.2
No FDA clearance listed
- Clinical Integration0/2.6
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength4.9/8.8
2 peer-reviewed papers
- Vendor & Market12/19.8
Top-tier funding and adoption
- Sentiment & Transparency6.5/20
Prices listed publicly
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/1
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/5
No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation
- EHR integrations (count)0/1
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/1
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/0
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers5/7
2 peer-reviewed papers
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/2
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal12/12
Top-tier funding and adoption
- Years in market0/8
Founded year not recorded
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/14
No clinician sentiment data available
- Pricing transparency7/7
Prices listed publicly
Near-universal in US med-school preclinical years.
$84.95 (3 months) to $119.95 (21 months), one-time (October 2026). Husain Sattar video + textbook.
Bottom line
Pathoma is a pathology course made of a printed text and 35-plus hours of video, written and taught by one physician, Husain Sattar, MD (University of Chicago pathology, per the vendor's author page). It is for a medical student who wants pathology explained in one voice and will use it beside a question bank. It is not a stand-alone Step 1 program, because it covers a single subject, and a buyer who needs the book as a PDF is out of luck, because the vendor says the text is paperback only. No 2025 or 2026 complaints or community reviews are published, and no study of its effect on scores is published either. The 12-month price is $99.95 per the vendor's sign-up page.
Pathoma pricing in 2026: what it actually costs
Pathoma Pro costs $84.95 for 3 months, $99.95 for 12 months and $119.95 for 21 months, each including the 2026 paperback textbook (as of October 2026). A free account costs $0 and gives a 1-month trial with 6 videos and no book. The 12-month plan at $99.95 is the one that makes sense for most students.
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free account | 1-month trial | Free | 6 videos, no book |
| Pro3 price points | |||
| Pro | 3 months, one-time | $84.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 12 months, one-time | $99.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 21 months, one-time | $119.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
- Free account: $0 for a 1-month trial with 6 videos and no book, no obligation. (pathoma.com)
- Coupon codes: Coupon sites list 5% codes but repeat the standard prices. We could not confirm any code works. Pathoma itself does not advertise one.
- Group or institutional pricing: Not found on the pages we read. (pathoma.com)
What is not in the Pathoma list price?
Very little. Pathoma has three Pro terms, each a single payment, and the term length barely moves the price. The 3-month plan is $84.95, the 12-month plan is $99.95 and the 21-month plan is $119.95 (October 2026). The extra $15 buys nine more months.
Does Pathoma include the book?
Every Pro tier includes the 2026 paperback textbook. The text and the videos cannot be bought separately. The book is physical only, with no PDF, and ships within 36 hours. The subscription starts at sign-up with extra time added for shipping. We found no shipping fee on the pages we could read, and no stated return policy for the book.
Be careful with third-party claims. Elite Medical Prep says a textbook PDF is included. Pathoma's own pages say the book is physical only. Believe the vendor on this one.
Can you pay less for Pathoma?
A free account costs $0 for one month and gives 6 videos with no book. That is enough to judge whether the teaching style suits you. Coupon sites list 5% codes, but they only repeat standard prices and we could not confirm any code works. Group pricing was not found.
On eBay, "book plus videos" bundles appear at $49.99 to $59.99, with used books from $8 to $24 and international reprints. These are unofficial and we do not recommend them: a used book does not come with video access, and we cannot vouch for reprints.
Can you get a refund on Pathoma?
Not as of the terms we read. Sales are final because the content is digital. The Terms say payments are nonrefundable and give no credits for partly used periods, although Pathoma "may still choose to issue refunds or credits" at its discretion. Several of the support pages we read were flagged as old, and Pathoma blocks automated fetches, so we took the terms from search excerpts. The 2022 UW Medicine Step 1 resource list is the only institutional price document we found, and it is too old to quote.
Is Pathoma worth it?
Yes, at $99.95. Picture a student who is weak in pathology and whose Step 1 is more than three months away: the 12-month plan gives the video series and a textbook for under $100. The 2017 SDN verdict, "100% worth $100", is nine years old but lands close to today's 12-month price.
Buy the 12-month plan unless your date is under three months out. The 21-month plan at $119.95 only helps if you start early and want videos through Step 2 CK review.
If you want broad coverage across subjects, Boards and Beyond at $249 for a year is a broader video library and costs $149.05 more. If you want questions, Pathoma is the wrong product. The UWorld, AMBOSS and USMLE-Rx pages cover that side, and the Step 1 study tools guide lines them up.
Skip Pathoma if your school's pathology course already works for you.
Verified October 14, 2026 from pathoma.com.
What is Pathoma and who is behind it?
The vendor's home page describes it as a text and online course for USMLE Step 1 and medical-course review: a 218-page full-colour text, more than 300 often-tested images, and over 35 hours of video that covers the whole text. The page says it is written and taught entirely by Dr. Sattar. The online subscription covers all 19 chapters, which run from growth adaptations and cell injury through the organ systems to skin.
The seller is Pathoma LLC. The site footer carries a 2011 to 2024 copyright range, and the 2018 book edition lists Pathoma LLC in Chicago as publisher. No founding date for the company is published. A University of Chicago Magazine profile of Dr. Sattar describes a self-published product, and no acquisition by a publisher or funding round was found.
Pathoma is a one-author product, so content quality and updates depend on one person's time. The vendor says the book is updated regularly, but no update schedule is published.
What do you get?
Three things come with a paid account per the vendor's pricing page: video access for the chosen term, the current paperback text, and streaming on up to three authorized devices for private, non-commercial use. Text and videos cannot be bought separately, and there is no PDF. Per the vendor's FAQ excerpts, the book ships within 36 hours, and the subscription clock starts at sign-up with extra time added to cover shipping.
A free account runs one month. It comes with 6 videos and no book, and needs no payment.
Practice questions are an open point. One third-party review mentions them, and no official page describes them, so whether the Pro plan includes questions is not stated. A buyer who wants practice questions with the course should check the live page.
Why do students use it?
The evidence is reputational. Proto Magazine and the University of Chicago's magazine both describe it as widely loved, with Proto calling Dr. Sattar "the beloved elucidator". Neither piece carries 2025 or 2026 complaints, and both are press profiles rather than evaluations.
A Student Doctor Network post from 2017 said "Pathoma is 100% worth $100". That is one forum voice nine years ago and it predates the current price table, though the 12-month price today is $99.95 per the vendor's sign-up page.
Northwestern's list of resources used by high Step 1 scorers says students used Pathoma "only in preparatory phase". The page's date is not stated. The phrase is a usage pattern, not a rating, and it suggests the course is a pass to take early, before a question bank becomes the main method.
What are its limits?
Scope is the first. Pathoma covers pathology and nothing else. A student who needs physiology, pharmacology or microbiology teaching has to buy those from other vendors, and the video-course options are compared below.
The second is the terms. No auto-renew policy is published. Per excerpts of the vendor's terms, payments are nonrefundable with no credit for partly used periods, though the vendor "may still choose to issue refunds or credits" at its discretion. The FAQ says all sales of digital content are final, so plan on that and confirm on the live site.
The third is a conflicting claim about the book. Elite Medical Prep's review says the text PDF is included. The vendor's own FAQ says physical copy only, and the vendor is the better source on its own product.
The fourth is the evidence base. Two 2024 papers mention Pathoma and neither tests it: a Cureus literature review on study strategies and exam scores, and a paper in Urology on third-party resources in medical student urology education. No study of Pathoma's effect on scores was found.
What about compliance and institutional use?
No HIPAA, SOC 2 or HITRUST attestation is stated, and a course with no patient data has no use for one. The terms matter more: streaming is limited to three devices for private, non-commercial use, so a login shared across a study group sits outside what they describe. No public cohort license rate exists, and a program that wants one has to ask the vendor.
What does it cost?
The headline figure is $99.95 for a 12-month Pro account including the 2026 paperback, one-time, per the vendor's sign-up page as of October 2026. Three-month and 21-month terms, the free trial and the book-shipping terms are in the pricing section. Coupon sites list 5 percent codes, but they repeat the standard prices and no code could be confirmed. Group and institutional pricing is not public.
The 21-month term at $119.95 works out to about $5.71 a month and the 3-month term at $84.95 to about $28.32 a month (our arithmetic). The 12-month term costs $15 more than three months and runs four times as long.
How does it compare with Boards and Beyond and USMLE-Rx?
Boards and Beyond is the broad option. It lists more than 490 Step 1 videos with 2,300 plus questions per the McGraw Hill product guide, and its price range is from $24 a week to $399 for two years per its pricing page. A student who wants one course for every Step 1 subject pays several times Pathoma's price. A student who wants only pathology explained well does not need it.
USMLE-Rx Express Videos cover Step 1 more widely, at 90-plus hours by the vendor's count and $149 for 12 months per its pricing page. It is the only other video product with a price near Pathoma's, and it covers more subjects. Pathoma wins on cost and on a single teaching voice. Express Videos win on breadth. We have no source comparing teaching quality.
Against UWorld there is no choice to make, because a question bank and a pathology course do different jobs. A student who buys UWorld's 360-day bank at $579 (per its product page) and Pathoma at $99.95 is paying for two different layers.
Who should buy it, and who should not?
Buy if pathology is the subject slowing you down. A second-year student whose pathology course moves faster than they can follow is the clearest case: the free one-month account offers sample videos before paying, and the 12-month Pro term covers a school year.
Skip or delay if you are six weeks into dedicated Step 1 study with a question bank in hand. Per the Northwestern list, strong students used Pathoma early, and a late purchase adds video hours to a calendar that is mostly questions. A resident returning to the material later in training is a weaker fit than the 21-month price suggests, since nothing published says how long the content stays current.
Check first if you are an international student buying the book. The vendor lists a 36-hour dispatch, and no shipping fees were found.
The verdict
Pathoma is a low-cost pathology course from a single author, with a long reputation and no independent outcome data. The 12-month term is the sensible buy for a student who needs pathology explained, and a poor one for a student who has covered the material and needs practice questions.
Editorial review last generated October 14, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What the literature says
2 peer-reviewed studies indexed on PubMed evaluate Pathoma in clinical contexts. The most relevant are shown below, ranked by editorial relevance score combining title match, study design, recency, and journal tier.
- Medical School Curricula and the Role of Third-Party Resources in Medical Student Urology Education.
- Capelin J, Cole A, Ferry E, et al.· Urology· 2024
- To assess the quality and extent of the urology education provided to medical students both by third-party resources (TPRs) and by the curriculum provided by medical schools METHODS: TPRs were assessed by systematically comparing the content of the 4 most common resources (Anking, Pathoma, Uworld, and First Aid) to the American Urological Association's Medical Student Curriculum (AUA-MSC). Medical school curricula were assessed via a survey sent to the top-150 allopathic medical schools in the United States. The survey asked about clinical and pre-clinical exposure to urology received by medi…
- A Literature Review on Optimizing Study Strategies in Medical Education: Insights From Exam Scores and Study Resources.
- Morey G, Morey VC, Gruman T, et al.· Cureus· 2024
- Medical school exams, like those by the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) and the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE), assess essential knowledge and skills for safe patient care, essential for student advancement and securing competitive residencies. Understanding the correlation between exam scores and medical school performance, as well as identifying trends among high scorers, provides valuable insights for both medical students and educators. This review examines the link between study resources and NBME exam scores, as well as psychological factors influenc…
Common questions about Pathoma
Answers below cover the most-searched clinician questions for Pathoma in 2026. Updated as vendor docs and pricing change.




