- from USD 199/mo
- Not disclosed
- Not disclosed
- —
- —

PrecisionOS
by PrecisionOS Technology
VR surgical training library for orthopedics and podiatry, plus inVisionOS, a patient-specific VR planning tool with an FDA 510(k) clearance.
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance18/28
FDA cleared (1 K-number on record)
- Clinical Integration0/26
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength22.5/28.8
3 peer-reviewed papers
- Vendor & Market3/18
Seed-stage or unfunded
- Sentiment & Transparency5/14
Prices listed publicly
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance18/18
FDA cleared (1 K-number on record)
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/10
No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation
- EHR integrations (count)0/14
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/8
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/4
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers15/21
3 peer-reviewed papers
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review8/8
1 RCT/Meta-Analysis/Systematic Review
- Funding & adoption signal3/12
Seed-stage or unfunded
- Years in market0/6
Founded year not recorded
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/9
No clinician sentiment data available
- Pricing transparency5/5
Prices listed publicly
VR surgical training library for orthopedics and podiatry, plus inVisionOS, a patient-specific VR planning tool with an FDA 510(k) clearance.
Pricing from from USD 199/mo.
Bottom line
PrecisionOS is a virtual reality platform for orthopedic surgical training, sold to individual surgeons and trainees by subscription and to institutions by quote. The company also makes inVisionOS, a separate VR planning tool. The training library has no independent outcome data. Orthopedic residents and program directors who want practice cases between operating-room sessions are the buyers.
What is PrecisionOS and who sells it?
PrecisionOS Technology is based in Vancouver, British Columbia. Tracxn dates the company to 2017 and names Danny Goel, an orthopedic surgeon at UBC who serves as CEO, and Roberto Oliveira as founders. The homepage also names Colin O'Connor as a founder. It raised $2.3M in 2018 in a round led by AO Invest, and in 2022 it announced a collaboration with Siemens Healthineers on VR training for a mobile 3D X-ray system.
What does it do?
The core product is the Digital Cadaver Lab, a library of surgeon-created VR cases. Orthopedics and podiatry are live, with pain medicine and dental surgery listed as coming soon. Topics include sports arthroscopy, shoulder and elbow, trauma, spine, pediatrics, foot and ankle, and arthroplasty.
Around the library sit three additions. Delphi is an "AI Attending" mentor inside the mobile app. The mobile app lets users plan and queue VR sessions. For institutions there is program-level reporting and a curriculum aligned to ACGME requirements.
inVisionOS is the planning tool: it turns CT scans into a 3D model viewed on an Oculus Quest 2, according to MassDevice and BioSpace.
What does the FDA clearance cover?
The FDA 510(k) database lists one clearance for this applicant, K210344, for inVisionOS, decided on 10 November 2021 as substantially equivalent. It covers patient-specific planning. The training library has no clearance.
Is there evidence the training works?
Three 2024 papers on immersive VR training exist in the orthopedic literature: a hip arthroscopy simulator comparison of immersive and non-immersive VR in Arthroscopy, a medical student elective on immersive VR in Orthopadie, and VR-enabled resident education for lateral-access spine surgery in World Neurosurgery. None names PrecisionOS in its title. Press coverage from 2019 to 2022 is vendor-sourced, and no clinician discussion of the product was found on forums or review sites.
What does it cost?
The vendor's site lists individual subscriptions at $199 per month or $1,999 per year. Institutions get a custom quote.
Who is it for?
- A resident who wants repeat practice on shoulder or arthroscopy cases and is paying personally: the annual plan works out to about $167 a month.
- A program director wanting reporting against ACGME milestones: the institutional tier is the one with that feature, and its price is unpublished.
The verdict
PrecisionOS is a real, narrow product with an open price for individuals. For a resident who wants extra repetitions on arthroscopy or shoulder cases, $1,999 a year buys a practice aid with a vendor-built case library. A program director buying it for a curriculum would be paying on the vendor's word, since no published study shows that practicing on it improves operative performance. As a proven teaching method it is not there yet.
Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
Single paid tier at USD 199/month per provider.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual, monthly | USD 199 | — | Individual subscription. |
| Individual, yearly | — | USD 1999 | Individual subscription, billed yearly. |
| Institution | — | — | Custom quote. No public price. |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.
What deploys cleanly
Carries FDA 510(k) (inVisionOS planning tool only) per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.
What the literature says
3 peer-reviewed studies indexed on PubMed evaluate PrecisionOS in clinical contexts. The most relevant are shown below, ranked by editorial relevance score combining title match, study design, recency, and journal tier.
- Hip Arthroscopy Simulator Training With Immersive Virtual Reality Has Similar Effectiveness to Nonimmersive Virtual Reality.
- Rahman OF, Kunze KN, Yao K, et al.· Arthroscopy· 2024
- To (1) compare the efficacy of immersive virtual reality (iVR) to nonimmersive virtual reality (non-iVR) training in hip arthroscopy on procedural and knowledge-based skills acquisition and (2) evaluate the relative cost of each platform. Fourteen orthopaedic surgery residents were randomized to simulation training utilizing an iVR Hip Arthroscopy Simulator (n = 7; PrecisionOS) or non-iVR simulator (n = 7; ArthroS Hip VR; VirtaMed). After training, performance was assessed on a cadaver by 4 expert hip arthroscopists through arthroscopic video review of a diagnostic hip arthroscopy.…
- Virtual Reality-Enabled Resident Education of Lateral-Access Spine Surgery.
- Zaki MM, Joshi RS, Joseph JR, et al.· World Neurosurg· 2024
- Lateral-access spine surgery has many benefits, but adoption has been limited by a steep learning curve. Virtual reality (VR) is gaining popularity and lends itself as a useful tool in enhancing neurosurgical resident education. We thus sought to assess whether VR-based simulation could enhance the training of neurosurgery residents in lateral spine surgery. Neurosurgery residents completed a VR-based lateral spine module on lateral patient positioning and performing lateral lumbar interbody fusion using the PrecisionOS VR system on the Meta Quest 2 headset. Simulation occurred 1×/week e…
- Immersive virtual reality in orthopedic surgery as elective subject for medical students : First experiences in curricular teaching.
- Schöbel T, Schuschke L, Youssef Y, et al.· Orthopadie (Heidelb)· 2024
- Virtual reality (VR) simulators have been introduced for skills training in various medical disciplines to create an approximately realistic environment without the risk of patient harm and have improved to more immersive VR (iVR) simulators at affordable costs. There is evidence that training on VR simulators improves technical skills but its use in orthopedic training programs and especially in curricular teaching sessions for medical students are currently not well established. The aim of this study was to describe the implementation of a VR operating theater as an elective course for…




