- No public price.
- Not disclosed
- Not disclosed
- —
- 2013
- US


Techcyte Fusion
by Techcyte · founded 2013 · US
AI platform for anatomic and clinical pathology slides and Pap test review, for pathology labs. Research use only in the US.
On this page
Not rated: too little independent evidence yet.
- Regulatory & Compliance0/28
No FDA clearance listed
- Clinical Integration0/6.6
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength0/28.8
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market14.4/18
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Sentiment & Transparency2.5/5
Pricing on request, no public amounts
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/18
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/10
No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation
- EHR integrations (count)0/4
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/2
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Peer-reviewed papers0/21
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/8
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal8/12
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Years in market6/6
Founded 2013 (13 years)
- Pricing transparency3/5
Pricing on request, no public amounts
AI platform for anatomic and clinical pathology slides and Pap test review, for pathology labs. Research use only in the US.
No public price.
Evidence record
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
- Score computed November 2, 2026, method 1.2.0
- Review written November 2, 2026
MedAI Verdict, Techcyte Fusion record, https://medaiverdict.com/tools/techcyte, version November 2, 2026
Bottom line
Techcyte calls Fusion "the only unified anatomic & clinical pathology AI platform," a SaaS product from Orem, Utah. Its modules range from Pap test review and frozen sections to stool parasitology, blood differentials and organ donation. In the US, Fusion AP and the SureView Cervical Cytology System are labeled research use only, so a US lab cannot use the AI for primary diagnosis, and none of the 14 clearances listed under the digital pathology product code belongs to Techcyte. In Europe the company claims CE marking, with its own pages split between IVDR and IVDD. Labs that run anatomic and clinical workflows side by side are the audience it describes.
What does the labeling say?
October 2026 releases state that "the Techcyte SureView Cervical Cytology System and Fusion AP are for research use only in the U.S.," and the site footer says Techcyte is "for research use only in the US."
In Europe the vendor contradicts itself. The homepage says Fusion AP is "now CE-IVDR certified," the footer says "CE-IVDD marked in Europe," and the October 2026 release gives SureView as CE-IVDD and Fusion AP as CE-IVDR.
What is in the platform?
The product list names Fusion AP, a Frozen Section Suite, SureView Cervical Cytology, and Parasitology, Bacteriology, Hematology and Organ Donation suites. AI features include Pap test review and QC, parasite detection in stool, white blood cell differentials, slide QC and mitotic counting through Aiosyn, and a third-party AI marketplace. Since October 2026 labs can run their own models inside Fusion AP, and which algorithms are first-party is not stated.
What does it connect to?
The vendor lists DICOM, FHIR, HL7 and DICOMweb for LIS, EHR, scanner and VNA connections. Its inquiry form names scanners from Pramana, Hamamatsu, Grundium, Motic, 3DHistech, MetaSystems and Epredia. A NovoPath LIS integration was announced in October 2026.
Is there a public price?
Techcyte lists no price. An October 2026 bundle pairs Epredia scanners with per-slide pricing through Fisher Healthcare, and no amounts accompany it.
Who stands behind it?
Techcyte was incorporated in 2013 as a University of Utah technology transfer, founded by Ralph Yarro and Rick Smith with Dr Mohamed Salama. The company timeline lists seed rounds from 2013 to 2018 of $113,000, $940,000, $3.2 million and $3 million, strategic investments from Motic and ARUP, and a $21 million Series E in 2021, when it had over 75 employees.
CEO Ben Cahoon said in March 2025 that the platform had delivered "over 5,000,000 clinical AI diagnoses," and the company reports nearly 9 million digital scans analyzed in 2025. The vendor lists Mayo Clinic, Zoetis and ARUP among its partners, and says BD distributes its cervical cytology system worldwide (January 2024).
What has been published?
Parasitology has the most listed clinical papers. A 2026 Journal of Clinical Microbiology paper assessed the performance of the Techcyte AI system for coproparasitological diagnosis (PMID 42324608), and a second 2026 paper compared stool diagnosis before and after AI augmentation in a US reference lab (PMID 42283511). A 2025 Cancer Cytopathology study implemented 100% quality control in a cervical cytology workflow with SureView (PMID 40387263). Hematology work covers blast and white cell algorithms, and a Cureus pilot assessed donor kidney pathology. Several authors are ARUP or Techcyte staff. No peer-reviewed validation of Fusion AP in anatomic pathology is listed.
The verdict
A European lab that wants cytology, parasitology and hematology on one platform, or the option to run its own models in Fusion AP, has a wide product list to evaluate, and a US lab planning primary diagnosis is outside what the labeling allows. Several of the parasitology and hematology authors are ARUP or Techcyte staff.
Editorial review last generated November 2, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | Not stated | Not stated | No public price. |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked November 2, 2026.
What deploys cleanly
Carries CE per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.
Who builds it
Techcyte Fusion (Techcyte) was founded in 2013 in US, putting it 13 years into market.


