Activ Surgical ActivSight vs C-SATS
Rating trainee video and imaging perfusion during an operation are separate purchases, and neither tool stands in for the other. C-SATS, a Johnson & Johnson product, sends recorded minimally invasive cases to expert surgeons and trained reviewers, and it sells on an enterprise basis at no public price. A residency director who wants repeatable ratings of trainee video buys it, and a department with no recording workflow has nothing to give it. Its method has a 2022 systematic review of 16 studies, 12 of them showing good or excellent agreement between crowd and expert ratings, and a 2025 Surgical Endoscopy paper asking whether it measures up. C-SATS states no FDA status. ActivSight is an intraoperative imaging system that shows perfusion without dye, cleared by FDA in 2021 (K203550) and 2023 (K231344). Surgeons and robotic-platform makers are its buyers, at an unpublished price. A residency director gets nothing from it, since it rates no one's technique.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Activ Surgical ActivSight
by Activ Surgical · founded 2017
Dye-free blood flow and tissue perfusion imaging for surgery (ActivSight), 510(k)-cleared.

C-SATS
by J&J MedTech
Surgical video review and analytics platform.
When to pick each one
Activ Surgical ActivSight
- Dye-free perfusion imaging in the OR
- FDA 510(k) clearances in 2021 and 2023
- Sold to surgeons and robotic-platform makers
C-SATS
- Residency directors rating trainee video
- Johnson & Johnson owned, enterprise pricing
- Crowd-versus-expert method with a 16-study review
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Activ Surgical ActivSight
40of 100
C-SATS
36of 100
| Dimension | Activ Surgical ActivSight | C-SATS | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 0 / 18 | +18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | -14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 3.9 / 7.8 | -3.9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 6 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -2.5 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Activ Surgical ActivSight
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
C-SATS
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | n/a | n/a | Enterprise. |
Evidence
Activ Surgical ActivSight
FDA decisions
K231344 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-08-02
ActivSight Intraoperative Imaging System
K203550 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-04-08
ActivSight Intraoperative Imaging System
C-SATS
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
3 PubMed records name C-SATS.
- Evaluating the evaluators: does C-SATS measure up? (opens in new tab)
- Barriers to the adoption of routine surgical video recording: a mixed-methods qualitative study of a real-world implementation of a video recording platform. (opens in new tab)
- Cloud Based AI-Driven Video Analytics (CAVs) in Laparoscopic Surgery: A Step Closer to a Virtual Portfolio. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Activ Surgical ActivSight | C-SATS |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2017 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.
