Activ Surgical ActivSight vs OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
A soft-tissue robot and a perfusion imaging system are not alternatives, and ActivSight is sold to robot makers as well as surgeons. OTTAVA, Johnson & Johnson's robot, received FDA De Novo authorization (DEN250068) in July 2026 for procedures including gastric bypass, cholecystectomy and hiatal hernia repair, with an inguinal hernia trial under way. It is a capital sale at no public price, launching with select U.S. customers, and Polyphonic adds learning, media and data insights for the team. A hospital surgical department buying a new platform for those procedures is the OTTAVA buyer, and one that needs inguinal hernia repair on it waits for that trial. ActivSight holds two 510(k) clearances, K203550 in 2021 and K231344 in 2023. A surgeon or robotic-platform maker who wants dye-free perfusion imaging buys it at an unpublished price, and it is an imaging system that ships no robot.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Activ Surgical ActivSight
by Activ Surgical · founded 2017
Dye-free blood flow and tissue perfusion imaging for surgery (ActivSight), 510(k)-cleared.

OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
by J&J MedTech
OTTAVA, Johnson & Johnson MedTech's soft-tissue surgical robot (FDA De Novo, July 2026), with its Polyphonic digital layer.
When to pick each one
Activ Surgical ActivSight
- FDA 510(k) clearances since April 2021
- Perfusion imaging without injected dye
- Sold to surgeons and platform makers
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
- OTTAVA robot with De Novo authorization
- Capital purchase for hospital surgical departments
- Launch limited to select U.S. customers
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Activ Surgical ActivSight
40of 100
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
35of 100
| Dimension | Activ Surgical ActivSight | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 18 / 18 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 0 / 21 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Activ Surgical ActivSight
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Capital sale. |
Evidence
Activ Surgical ActivSight
FDA decisions
K231344 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-08-02
ActivSight Intraoperative Imaging System
K203550 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-04-08
ActivSight Intraoperative Imaging System
OTTAVA (J&J MedTech)
FDA decisions
DEN250068 (opens in new tab)De Novo2026-07-21
OTTAVA Robotic Surgical System (applicant Auris Health, Inc.)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Activ Surgical ActivSight | OTTAVA (J&J MedTech) |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2017 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.
