Activ Surgical ActivSight vs Osso VR
A chief weighing ActivSight against Osso VR is comparing a device in the operating room with practice before it. ActivSight shows blood flow and tissue perfusion without dye during robotic, laparoscopic and open surgery, with two 510(k) clearances (K203550, K231344), sold to surgeons and robotic-platform makers at an unpublished price, and it is an imaging device with no training content. The vendor says surgeons adjust their plan about 20% of the time. Osso VR runs procedural practice on off-the-shelf headsets for an orthopedic residency director or a nurse educator, sold by contract with headsets extra. Its research page lists three randomized trials among six papers, and none of those outcomes is a patient outcome, so a buyer who needs patient-level evidence finds none from Osso, and ActivSight's 50-plus publications are the vendor's claim and not itemized. A robotic surgeon who wants perfusion on screen during the operation is the one buyer here with a reason to call Activ Surgical.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Activ Surgical ActivSight
by Activ Surgical · founded 2017
Dye-free blood flow and tissue perfusion imaging for surgery (ActivSight), 510(k)-cleared.

Osso VR
by Osso VR
VR procedural-skills training for healthcare, including nurse and surgical training.
When to pick each one
Activ Surgical ActivSight
- Two FDA 510(k) clearances for ActivSight
- Dye-free perfusion imaging during cases
- Price unpublished
Osso VR
- Residency programs and nurse educators
- Three randomized trials on simulated tasks
- Contract required, headsets extra
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Activ Surgical ActivSight
40of 100
Osso VR
48of 100
| Dimension | Activ Surgical ActivSight | Osso VR | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 0 / 18 | +18 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 21 / 21 | -21 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 7.8 / 7.8 | -7.8 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Activ Surgical ActivSight
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Osso VR
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price, pricing is requested through the website. Headsets cost extra. |
Evidence
Activ Surgical ActivSight
FDA decisions
K231344 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-08-02
ActivSight Intraoperative Imaging System
K203550 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-04-08
ActivSight Intraoperative Imaging System
Osso VR
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name Osso VR.
- The Utility of Virtual Reality in Orthopedic Surgical Training. (opens in new tab)
- Randomized Trial of a Virtual Reality Tool to Teach Surgical Technique for Tibial Shaft Fracture Intramedullary Nailing. (opens in new tab)
- Does Virtual Reality Improve Procedural Completion and Accuracy in an Intramedullary Tibial Nail Procedure? A Randomized Control Trial. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Activ Surgical ActivSight | Osso VR |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2017 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.
