MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Activ Surgical ActivSight vs VirtaMed

VirtaMed and ActivSight do not compete for the same purchase. VirtaMed is a capital buy of hardware simulators for a skills lab, distributed by CAE Healthcare, with lines for arthroscopy, laparoscopy, gynecology, urology and robotic surgery. Residency programs and medical schools buy it, and an individual trainee has no purchase route. It has no public price, the vendor makes no FDA statement, and the AI it mentions comes with no detail.

Three papers involve its hardware. One is a randomized trial of 14 residents in which ArthroS Hip VR performed about the same as a headset-based immersive VR rival, which cost less.

ActivSight is used in the operating room for dye-free blood flow and tissue perfusion imaging in robotic, laparoscopic and open cases. The FDA cleared it in April 2021 under K203550 and again in August 2023 under K231344, and surgeons and platform makers buy it. Its 50-plus publications are the vendor's claim and none is itemized, so a department that needs published evidence before it buys has more to read on the VirtaMed side.

Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Activ Surgical ActivSight logo

Activ Surgical ActivSight

by Activ Surgical · founded 2017

Dye-free blood flow and tissue perfusion imaging for surgery (ActivSight), 510(k)-cleared.

VirtaMed logo

VirtaMed

by VirtaMed AG

Surgical training simulators with real instruments for arthroscopy, laparoscopy, gynecology, urology and robotic surgery.

When to pick each one

Activ Surgical ActivSight

  • Cleared in April 2021 and again in August 2023
  • Perfusion imaging used during live surgery
  • Used in robotic, laparoscopic and open cases
Read the full Activ Surgical ActivSight review

VirtaMed

  • Physical simulators with original instruments and haptics
  • Arthroscopy, laparoscopy, gynecology, urology and robotic lines
  • ArthroS in Swiss orthopedic board exam since 2013, vendor claim
Read the full VirtaMed review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Activ Surgical ActivSight

40of 100

Competitive

VirtaMed

37of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Activ Surgical ActivSight and VirtaMed
DimensionActiv Surgical ActivSightVirtaMedDifference
FDA clearance18 / 180 / 18+18
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 1.40 / 1.40
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 0.80 / 0.80
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 2114.7 / 21-14.7
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 7.87.8 / 7.8-7.8
Funding & adoption signal6 / 123 / 12+3
Pricing transparency2.5 / 55 / 5-2.5
Years in market6 / 60 / 6+6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Activ Surgical ActivSight

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

VirtaMed

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aEnterprise capital purchase.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecActiv Surgical ActivSightVirtaMed
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded2017n/a
HQUSCH

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full surgical ai comparison

Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.