Augmedix vs ScribeMD
Augmedix sells to organizations that want people behind the note. Go is self-service, Assist adds a specialist layer to the AI draft, Live is full-service, and since October 2024 all of it sits under Commure. ScribeMD lists an Individual tier as free forever with no credit card (limits not stated) and a custom Enterprise contract with a BAA for groups, clinics and health systems. Its homepage names Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm. An individual physician who wants to start free picks ScribeMD, and a health-system ED or oncology service that wants the human layer picks Augmedix. A small group practice reads the two differently on compliance: ScribeMD's homepage words its SOC 2 claim as audited infrastructure and its badge names no Type, while Augmedix's site cites HITRUST and HIPAA, so ScribeMD's compliance claim is the less specific.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Augmedix
- Self-service Go, Assist and Live service levels
- Commure subsidiary since October 2024
- HITRUST and HIPAA cited on its site
ScribeMD
- Individual tier free forever, no credit card
- Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm named
- Enterprise contract includes a BAA
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Augmedix
47of 100
ScribeMD
52of 100
| Dimension | Augmedix | ScribeMD | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 7.8 / 13 | 13 / 13 | -5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 10.5 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 12 / 12 | 12 / 12 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 0 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -5 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Augmedix
Quote only, no public price.
ScribeMD
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual doctor | n/a | n/a | Free forever, no credit card required. The pricing page does not state what the free tier limits. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom per organization for groups, clinics and health systems, with no trial clock or visit limits, a custom contract and a BAA. |
Evidence
Augmedix
Community
1 post sourced: 0 positive, 0 neutral, 1 negative.
ScribeMD
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Augmedix | ScribeMD |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, Oracle Cerner, Meditech, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, NextGen, iKnowMed | Epic, Cerner, athenahealth, Veradigm |
| Founded | 2012 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.

