Aura AI Scribe vs ScribeMD
Both list a free plan for one physician. Aura's free notes are deleted after 21 days, and the plan carries its standard BAA. ScribeMD's pricing page says free forever for an individual doctor and does not state limits. ScribeMD, sold by EE Dojo, Inc., lists on its homepage Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm, cited clinical Q&A, a phone agent and billing automation, and claims 30,000+ physicians, though what the free plan includes is not stated. Its SOC 2 badge carries no type, and the homepage calls it SOC 2 audited infrastructure, so the scope is not stated. For groups, Aura's Team tier is $960 per clinician per year with seat management, which is $11,520 per year for twelve. ScribeMD's group price is custom per organization, so a twelve-clinician group setting a budget has a figure for Aura and none for ScribeMD. ScribeMD finishes behind Aura on that count. An individual on Cerner or Veradigm can try ScribeMD's free plan, since the homepage names both systems.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Aura AI Scribe
by Insight Health AI
Ambient AI scribe that drafts specialty-aware clinical notes in real time, with ICD-10 and CPT coding suggestions on paid tiers.

ScribeMD
by EE Dojo, Inc.
AI medical scribe that listens to visits, drafts clinical notes and syncs them to the EHR.
When to pick each one
Aura AI Scribe
- Team tier adds seat management and onboarding
- $960 per clinician yearly on Team
- Standard BAA on every plan
ScribeMD
- Free plan for an individual doctor
- Homepage names Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm
- Homepage lists cited clinical Q&A and a phone agent
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Aura AI Scribe
42of 100
ScribeMD
52of 100
| Dimension | Aura AI Scribe | ScribeMD | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 13 / 13 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 6.3 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -4.2 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Aura AI Scribe
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free Forever | per month | Free | per clinician, no card. Templates, pre-charting, after-visit documents, Magic Edit and standard BAA. Free notes are deleted after 21 days. |
| Pro, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $39.99 | per clinician, billed monthly. Adds auto-templates, ICD-10 and CPT coding and chat support. Struck-through list price $49.99 per month. No sale end date shown. |
| Pro, annual billing | per year, billed annually | $480 | per clinician, billed annually, $480 per year. Struck-through list price $600 per year. No sale end date shown. |
| Team, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $79.99 | per clinician, billed monthly. Adds seat management, enhanced onboarding and EHR integration. Struck-through list price $99.99 per month. No sale end date shown. |
| Team, annual billing | per year, billed annually | $960 | per clinician, billed annually, $960 per year. Struck-through list price $1,200 per year. No sale end date shown. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom quote, custom BAA and volume discounts with the AI suite. |
Verified November 2, 2026 from insighthealth.ai (opens in new tab).
ScribeMD
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual doctor | n/a | n/a | Free forever, no credit card required. The pricing page does not state what the free tier limits. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom per organization for groups, clinics and health systems, with no trial clock or visit limits, a custom contract and a BAA. |
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Aura AI Scribe | ScribeMD |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, athenahealth | Epic, Cerner, athenahealth, Veradigm |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.
