MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs Lunit

Lunit bought Volpara Health Technologies in a deal Radiology Business reports at about US$193M, and two older records, K182310 and K211279, still sit under the Volpara name. Under Lunit, Inc. openFDA lists six records, INSIGHT CXR as triage (K211733), two INSIGHT MMG and three INSIGHT DBT. A 2025 PLOS Digital Health study, an independent comparison of INSIGHT CXR versions for TB reading, found the newer version less accurate until its threshold was recalibrated. None of the six openFDA records under Lunit is named for TB. Lunit's contact page is the only route to a price.

Lunit sells to breast screening services and hospitals reading chest X-rays. Butterfly's NeedleViz, which an anesthesia group placing lines would use, needs the Advanced membership at $420 a year plus the probe (currency not stated). The iQ3 itself lists at $3,899 (currency not stated).

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

Lunit logo

Lunit

by Lunit · founded 2013

AI for chest X-ray, mammography and breast tomosynthesis, Volpara breast-density tools, and pathology biomarker software (SCOPE).

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • NeedleViz needs Advanced, $420 yearly, currency not stated
  • iQ3 device $3,899, currency not stated
Read the full Butterfly Network review

Lunit

  • INSIGHT MMG and DBT for breast imaging
  • INSIGHT CXR cleared for triage
  • KOSDAQ-listed since July 2022
Read the full Lunit review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

Lunit

66of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and Lunit
DimensionButterfly NetworkLunitDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 100 / 10+6
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.212.7 / 18.20
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.87.8 / 7.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

Lunit

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Contact form only.

Evidence

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkLunit
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2013
HQn/aKR

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.