MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs Overjet

A dental group reading bitewings and a hospital ultrasound lead rolling out probes are separate purchasers. Overjet's pages are written for the first, and Butterfly's security overview for the second.

Overjet's clearances are listed one per algorithm. Caries Assist is K212519 (May 2022) and K222746 (March 2023), Calculus Assist is K220928 (December 2022), Periapical Radiolucency Assist is K231678 (September 2023) and CBCT Assist is K251514 (December 2025). Its Trust Center says an independent HITRUST audit was completed. A 2025 Frontiers in Dental Medicine study of Caries Assist reported sensitivity of 0.69 for enamel and 0.91 for dentin, while a 2026 Journal of Dentistry study measured sensitivity of 56% at the dentin threshold against micro-CT.

Butterfly's security overview cites a SOC 2 Type 2 attestation scoped to the iQ+ ecosystem and lists HIPAA among its frameworks without claiming certification.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

Overjet logo

Overjet

by Overjet · founded 2018

FDA-cleared dental x-ray AI for caries, calculus, periapical lesions and tooth charting, for dentists and dental groups.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • SOC 2 Type 2 attestation covering the iQ+ ecosystem
  • Whole-body ultrasound including OB and MSK
Read the full Butterfly Network review

Overjet

  • Caries, calculus and periapical radiolucency clearances
  • Independent HITRUST audit stated on Trust Center
  • CBCT Assist cleared as K251514
Read the full Overjet review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

Overjet

42of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and Overjet
DimensionButterfly NetworkOverjetDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 100 / 10+6
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.20 / 18.2+12.7
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.80 / 7.8+7.8
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

Overjet

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Overjet

FDA decisions

Show 6 more

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkOverjet
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2018
HQn/aUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.