MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Butterfly Network vs VUNO

A Seoul company listed on KOSDAQ, VUNO builds mostly image-reading tools. Its FDA decisions cover chest X-ray triage for pleural effusion and pneumothorax (K241439, November 2024) and brain MR volumetry (K231398, October 2023). The chest page says the product is integrated with PACS and names no PACS vendor. The site lists sales and general email addresses and no price.

On the Butterfly side, Advanced Technology software costs $1,500 one-time with five years of guaranteed access (currency not stated). The Gestational Age Tool, cleared in March 2026, needs an iQ+ or iQ3 plus an Advanced membership.

One sells ultrasound hardware and the other sells software for radiographs, MR and fundus photographs. An OB or primary care clinician scanning at the bedside is Butterfly's buyer. A radiology department with a chest X-ray worklist or a brain MR protocol is VUNO's.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Butterfly Network logo

Butterfly Network

by Butterfly Network, Inc.

Butterfly iQ handheld whole-body ultrasound probe line, with FDA-cleared AI tools for bladder volume and gestational age.

VU

VUNO

by VUNO Inc. · founded 2014

FDA-cleared AI for chest X-ray triage and brain MR volumetry, plus Korean-approved bone age and retinal screening tools.

When to pick each one

Butterfly Network

  • Advanced software $1,500 one-time, currency not stated
  • Gestational Age Tool cleared March 2026
  • SOC 2 Type 2 attestation for the iQ+ ecosystem
Read the full Butterfly Network review

VUNO

  • Chest X-ray triage for effusion and pneumothorax
  • Brain MR volumetry cleared October 2023
  • ISO/IEC 27001 and 27701 certificates listed
Read the full VUNO review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Butterfly Network

66of 100

Top-ranked

VUNO

73of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Butterfly Network and VUNO
DimensionButterfly NetworkVUNODifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6 / 100 / 10+6
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers12.7 / 18.218.2 / 18.2-5.5
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review7.8 / 7.87.8 / 7.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Butterfly Network

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Butterfly iQ3 devicen/an/aDevice price, 3-year warranty. Shown with a dollar sign on the page, currency not otherwise stated.
Butterfly iQ+ devicen/an/aDevice price, 1-year warranty. Also stated as starts at $2,699 in the FAQ.
Core Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. 1 seat, 2 probes online.
Advanced Technology membershipn/an/aPlus probe. Adds Doppler modes, iQ Slice, iQ Fan, Biplane, Needle Viz and the AI tools Auto Bladder Volume and Auto B-Line Counter.
Advanced Technology one-timen/an/aPlus probe. Software access guaranteed for 5 years, no recurring fees required.

VUNO

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecButterfly NetworkVUNO
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2014
HQn/aKR

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.