Canon Medical AI vs Elucid
Elucid's PlaqueIQ quantifies coronary plaque on CT angiograms. It has FDA 510(k)s from September 2024 (K241524) and September 2026 (K261855), and the K241524 cleared claim covers plaque quantification to support clinicians and stops short of diagnosing disease. Category I CPT 75577 has applied since January 2026, with a national average payment near $1,012 at imaging centers, paid to the performing site and not to Elucid. Elucid bills providers per analysis. The workflow sends CCTA images to Elucid, where trained analysts segment the arteries. Turnaround time is unpublished. Canon's AiCE is deep-learning reconstruction cleared as part of CT and MR scanners, 28 of Canon's 98 openFDA clearances carry AiCE in the device name, and Canon's dose-reduction claim of up to 82.4% comes from a phantom study. A cardiology group sending CCTA out for plaque analysis is Elucid's audience, and a radiology department replacing scanners is Canon's. A scanner-bundled reconstruction engine and a per-analysis plaque service do not replace each other.
Radiology · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Canon Medical AI
by Canon Medical Systems
Canon's AI imaging portfolio under the Altivity umbrella, led by AiCE deep-learning reconstruction cleared as part of CT and MR scanners.

Elucid
by Elucid Bioimaging
PlaqueIQ analyzes coronary plaque on CT angiograms, with FDA 510(k) clearances in September 2024 and September 2026.
When to pick each one
Canon Medical AI
- AiCE deep-learning reconstruction across CT, MR, PET, X-ray
- Cleared inside scanners such as Vantage Galan 3T
- Sold with scanners, no public price
Elucid
- PlaqueIQ coronary plaque quantification, K241524 and K261855
- Category I CPT 75577 applies since January 2026
- Billed per analysis, analyst-assisted workflow
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Canon Medical AI
35of 100
Elucid
43of 100
| Dimension | Canon Medical AI | Elucid | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 18 / 18 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 18.2 | 12.7 / 18.2 | -12.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Canon Medical AI
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise and OEM | n/a | n/a | No public price. Sold with scanners. |
Elucid
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Per analysis | n/a | n/a | No public price. Providers are billed per analysis. Category I CPT code 75577 has applied since January 1, 2026. |
Evidence
Canon Medical AI
FDA decisions
K253625 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-03-27
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V10.0 with AiCE
K250901 (opens in new tab)510(k)2025-07-22
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V10.0 with AiCE
K243335 (opens in new tab)510(k)2025-01-07
Vantage Galan 3T V10.0 with AiCE
K241496 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-08-20
Vantage Galan 3T V10.0 with AiCE
K240238 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-04-12
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V9.0 with AiCE
Show 10 more
K230355 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-08-30
Vantage Galan 3T V9.0 with AiCE
K223726 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-03-07
Aquilion Precision V10.14 with AiCE
K222819 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-03-03
Aquilion Serve V1.2 with AiCE-i
K222968 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-10-25
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V8.0 with AiCE
K220986 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-09-12
Aquilion Precision V10.10 with AiCE
K222387 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-08-31
Vantage Galan 3T V8.0 with AiCE
K220192 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-04-08
Vantage Galan 3T V8.0 with AiCE
K220335 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-04-05
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V8.0 with AiCE
K213305 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-12-01
Vantage Fortian 1.5T V8.0 with AiCE
K212056 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-08-04
Vantage Galan 3T V7.0 with AiCE
Elucid
FDA decisions
K261855 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-09-18
Elucid PlaqueIQ
K241524 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-09-12
Elucid PlaqueIQ
Peer-reviewed
2 PubMed records name Elucid.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Canon Medical AI | Elucid |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | JP | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full radiology comparison
Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.
