Canon Medical AI vs Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic scores lung cancer risk for incidentally found nodules on CT, and the 510(k) text limits that scoring function to pulmonologists and radiologists. Its one FDA record is K202300 from March 2021, which names QuantX as predicate. Optellum's reimbursement page lists CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T and a Medicare hospital outpatient payment of $650.50 under APC 1508 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles). That is a rate paid to the hospital, not a price to the buyer, and the home page offers a demo and shows no price. A pulmonology program or lung nodule clinic is the Optellum buyer.
Canon Medical sells AiCE deep learning reconstruction for CT, MR, PET and X-ray. The vendor claims up to 82.4% dose reduction, measured in a phantom model observer study. AiCE comes with Canon scanners, so a site that wants lower CT dose from its next scanner is the Canon buyer.
Canon changes how the scanner builds the image, and Optellum scores the nodule on the finished CT.
Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Canon Medical AI
by Canon Medical Systems
Canon's AI imaging portfolio under the Altivity umbrella, led by AiCE deep-learning reconstruction cleared as part of CT and MR scanners.

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
by Optellum · founded 2016
FDA-cleared AI that scores lung cancer risk for CT lung nodules and tracks them, for pulmonologists and radiology departments.
When to pick each one
Canon Medical AI
- Deep learning reconstruction for CT, MR, PET and X-ray
- Vendor dose claim of up to 82.4%, phantom study
- Vendor says applicable to over 98% of CT, MR, PET procedures
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
- Lung nodule risk score on CT
- CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T
- Customers include Penn Medicine and Vanderbilt, vendor-listed
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Canon Medical AI
35of 100
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
35of 100
| Dimension | Canon Medical AI | Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 18 / 18 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 18.2 | 0 / 18.2 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Canon Medical AI
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise and OEM | n/a | n/a | No public price. Sold with scanners. |
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Reimbursement fact, not a price: CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T; Medicare hospital outpatient APC 1508 rate $650.50 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles). |
Evidence
Canon Medical AI
FDA decisions
K253625 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-03-27
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V10.0 with AiCE
K250901 (opens in new tab)510(k)2025-07-22
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V10.0 with AiCE
K243335 (opens in new tab)510(k)2025-01-07
Vantage Galan 3T V10.0 with AiCE
K241496 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-08-20
Vantage Galan 3T V10.0 with AiCE
K240238 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-04-12
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V9.0 with AiCE
Show 10 more
K230355 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-08-30
Vantage Galan 3T V9.0 with AiCE
K223726 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-03-07
Aquilion Precision V10.14 with AiCE
K222819 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-03-03
Aquilion Serve V1.2 with AiCE-i
K222968 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-10-25
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V8.0 with AiCE
K220986 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-09-12
Aquilion Precision V10.10 with AiCE
K222387 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-08-31
Vantage Galan 3T V8.0 with AiCE
K220192 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-04-08
Vantage Galan 3T V8.0 with AiCE
K220335 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-04-05
Vantage Fortian/Orian 1.5T V8.0 with AiCE
K213305 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-12-01
Vantage Fortian 1.5T V8.0 with AiCE
K212056 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-08-04
Vantage Galan 3T V7.0 with AiCE
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
FDA decisions
K202300 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-03-05
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic, Optellum software, Optellum platform
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Canon Medical AI | Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2016 |
| HQ | JP | GB |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full radiology comparison
Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.
