- No public price. Reimbursement fact, not a price: CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T; Medicare hospital outpatient APC 1508 rate $650.50 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles).
- Not disclosed
- Not disclosed
- —
- 2016
- GB


Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
by Optellum · founded 2016 · GB
FDA-cleared AI that scores lung cancer risk for CT lung nodules and tracks them, for pulmonologists and radiology departments.
On this page
Editorial rating 2.5 / 5
- Regulatory & Compliance18/28
FDA cleared (1 K-number on record)
- Clinical Integration0/6.6
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength0/26
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market9/18
Founded 2016 (10 years)
- Sentiment & Transparency2.5/5
Pricing on request, no public amounts
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance18/18
FDA cleared (1 K-number on record)
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/10
No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation
- EHR integrations (count)0/4
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/2
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Peer-reviewed papers0/18
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/8
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal3/12
Seed-stage or unfunded
- Years in market6/6
Founded 2016 (10 years)
- Pricing transparency3/5
Pricing on request, no public amounts
FDA-cleared AI that scores lung cancer risk for CT lung nodules and tracks them, for pulmonologists and radiology departments.
No public price. Reimbursement fact, not a price: CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T; Medicare hospital outpatient APC 1508 rate $650.50 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles).
Evidence record
510(k)K202300 (opens in new tab)March 5, 2021
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic, Optellum software, Optellum platform
- Score computed November 2, 2026, method 1.2.0
- Review written November 2, 2026
MedAI Verdict, Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic record, https://medaiverdict.com/tools/optellum, version November 2, 2026
Bottom line
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic is CT software that tracks incidentally found lung nodules, prioritizes the patients and returns a cancer-risk score for each nodule. Its 510(k) from March 2021 makes the scoring function available only to pulmonologists and radiologists. Pulmonology programs and radiology departments that run nodule follow-up are the buyers. Reimbursement runs through two CPT codes, 0721T and +0722T.
What does the risk score rest on?
The 510(k) text describes an algorithm that "calculates a single value, the LCP-CNN score" using only imaging features from the CT, shown against a database of cases with known ground truth. The cleared scope is tracking, assessment and characterization of incidentally detected pulmonary nodules on lung CT. openFDA lists one Optellum 510(k), K202300, dated March 5, 2021. The vendor's timeline shows a zero-click version of the prediction AI as ready for clearance in 2024.
Optellum calls its offering "the world's only FDA-cleared and UKCA / CE-marked reimbursable radiomics AI solution for lung cancer diagnosis." It also markets Lung Cancer Prediction AI and a Patient Discovery AI module for prioritization.
Who sells it?
Optellum was founded in 2016 and runs offices in Oxford, England and Houston, Texas. Its Trust Centre lists ISO 13485:2016 and ISO/IEC 27001. The vendor says LCP AI is integrated with RapidAI's Rapid Enterprise platform and that SimonMed built it into its workflow.
What do the papers cover?
A 2020 Thorax paper (PMID 32139611) is an external validation of a CNN tool to predict malignancy in pulmonary nodules. A 2023 Chest paper (PMID 36087795) compares CNN assessment of solitary pulmonary nodules with PET-CT and dynamic contrast-enhanced CT. A 2023 JAMA Network Open paper (PMID 36929398) recalibrates a deep learning model for low-dose CT to inform screening intervals. Several papers on the tool are model papers from the developer, and developer affiliation is unknown for each of these three.
The vendor states more than 71% more interventional procedures and more than 50% shorter time to diagnosis, and labels the sources as in preparation or internal data.
What does reimbursement look like?
No public price, though payment facts exist. The reimbursement page lists CPT code 0721T for CT tissue characterization without concurrent CT and add-on code +0722T for use with concurrent CT, effective July 1, 2022, both in Category III. The Medicare hospital outpatient rate under APC 1508, status indicator S, is $650.50 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles). Physician payment is carrier-priced and commercial payment varies.
The verdict
A nodule clinic that wants scoring and tracking for incidental findings, and a billing route for them, is the match, with the 2026 Medicare outpatient rate of $650.50 as the one national figure attached.
Editorial review last generated November 2, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | Not stated | Not stated | No public price. Reimbursement fact, not a price: CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T; Medicare hospital outpatient APC 1508 rate $650.50 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles). |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked November 2, 2026.
What deploys cleanly
Carries FDA 510(k), CE, ISO 13485:2016, ISO/IEC 27001 per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.
Who builds it
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic (Optellum) was founded in 2016 in GB, putting it 10 years into market.



