MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Elicit vs Undermind

Undermind asks follow-up questions about a research goal, then by its own description reads hundreds of papers and follows citation trails. A postdoc starting a new topic who needs the papers found, not tabulated, can buy Pro at $16 per month billed annually, and Team is $15 per person per month billed annually. Elicit Pro is $49 per user per month billed as $588 annually, and the extra money pays for screening 5,000 papers into 20 columns. A lab tabulating study data wants that. Undermind sells search, so it falls short there.

On recall, Undermind's 85% for the 20 most relevant papers in ten minutes comes from its own benchmark of 23 queries. Aaron Tay's informal test found 8 of 11 gold-standard papers in its top 10. A 2025 systematic review of 18 studies put Elicit's average search sensitivity at 37.9%. No study compares the two head to head. For the postdoc who only needs to find papers, Elicit Pro is the overspend at about three times the annual price.

Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Elicit logo

Elicit

by Elicit Research, PBC · founded 2021

AI research assistant that searches 138M+ papers and 545,000 clinical trials, builds cited reports and extracts data for literature reviews.

Undermind logo

Undermind

by Undermind · founded 2023

Literature-search agent that asks follow-up questions, reads hundreds of papers and follows citation trails.

When to pick each one

Elicit

  • Screens 5,000 papers into 20 columns on Pro
  • Free Basic plan with Zotero import
  • SOC 2 Type II, report under NDA
Read the full Elicit review

Undermind

  • Pro is $16 per month, billed annually
  • Team is $15 per person monthly, billed annually
  • Says it follows citation trails across hundreds of papers
Read the full Undermind review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Elicit

37of 100

Competitive

Undermind

41of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Elicit and Undermind
DimensionElicitUndermindDifference
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 218.4 / 21-8.4
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 60 / 60
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market4.2 / 63 / 6+1.2

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Elicit

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Basicn/an/aLimited usage for Research Agent and Research Reports. Zotero import.
Pron/a$588Per user. Systematic review workflow that screens 5,000 papers, 20 columns, API access. Monthly-billed price not shown.
Scalen/a$2,028Per user. Monthly-billed price not shown.
Enterprisen/an/aCustom. Screens 40,000 papers, SSO and SAML, single-tenancy, no training on your data by default.

Undermind

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aStandard rate limits on chats and searches.
Pron/a$192The page says annual billing saves 20%. The monthly-billed price is not shown.
Teamn/a$180Per person.
Enterprisen/an/aContact us. Adds sitewide login and an admin dashboard.

Evidence

Elicit

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecElicitUndermind
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20212023
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full research tools comparison

Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.