iScribe vs ScribeMD
Coding is where an orthopedic practice on Epic splits the two. iScribe says E&M Assist is reserved for orthopedic and urology practices on athenahealth or NextGen. ScribeMD's homepage names Epic and lists ICD-10 and CPT suggestions. For that practice iScribe is the weaker fit.
iScribe's buyer is an orthopedic or urology practice on athenahealth or NextGen. The company started inside orthopedic practices in 2015, the vendor says E&M Assist reaches a 95% audited accuracy rate, and a 14-day trial leads to an MSA, with pricing discussed while the MSA is drafted.
ScribeMD's buyer is a physician who wants dictation on a desktop and a phone. The homepage lists a desktop app for Mac and Windows, mobile apps, an AI phone agent and billing automation, and groups, clinics and health systems get a custom contract.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
iScribe
- Orthopedic and urology practices on athenahealth or NextGen
- AI-assisted E&M coding with provider dashboard
- 14-day trial, then a signed MSA
ScribeMD
- Names Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm
- ICD-10 and CPT code suggestions
- Mac and Windows dictation app plus mobile apps
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
iScribe
52of 100
ScribeMD
52of 100
| Dimension | iScribe | ScribeMD | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 13 / 13 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 10.5 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -2.5 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
iScribe
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Pricing is set per provider and practice while the MSA is drafted. A 14-day complimentary trial, described as not a demo, comes first. iScribe Flex pricing is not disclosed. |
Verified November 2, 2026 from iscribehealth.com (opens in new tab).
ScribeMD
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual doctor | n/a | n/a | Free forever, no credit card required. The pricing page does not state what the free tier limits. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom per organization for groups, clinics and health systems, with no trial clock or visit limits, a custom contract and a BAA. |
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | iScribe | ScribeMD |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, athenahealth, NextGen, Veradigm, Altera, Greenway | Epic, Cerner, athenahealth, Veradigm |
| Founded | 2015 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.


