Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic vs Subtle Medical
Optellum's reimbursement page lists CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T and a Medicare hospital outpatient APC 1508 rate of $650.50 (currency not stated) for 2026, a national average before deductibles. The vendor says SimonMed built the lung cancer prediction score into its workflow, which makes outpatient imaging groups running a nodule service the audience.
Subtle Medical sells vendor-neutral software to imaging departments. SubtleHD covers MR, PET and CT, with the PET version (K254013) decided May 14, 2026. A Series C announced June 2, 2026, led by Morgan Stanley Expansion Capital, came with Ohad Arazi named CEO. An outpatient center whose bottleneck is MR scanner time gets little from Optellum, which scores lung nodules on CT, so Optellum trails there. Departments after the up to 80% faster MRI sequences the vendor claims are Subtle's buyers.
Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
by Optellum · founded 2016
FDA-cleared AI that scores lung cancer risk for CT lung nodules and tracks them, for pulmonologists and radiology departments.

Subtle Medical
by Subtle Medical
Vendor-neutral deep-learning software that improves MR, PET and CT image quality on faster or lower-dose protocols.
When to pick each one
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
- Lung nodule risk scoring with Medicare outpatient rate listed
- Integrated into SimonMed's workflow, per vendor
Subtle Medical
- Vendor-neutral software for MR, PET and CT
- Series C announced June 2026
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
35of 100
Subtle Medical
37of 100
| Dimension | Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic | Subtle Medical | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 18 / 18 | 18 / 18 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 18.2 | 7.3 / 18.2 | -7.3 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Reimbursement fact, not a price: CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T; Medicare hospital outpatient APC 1508 rate $650.50 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles). |
Subtle Medical
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Billing period, trial and refund not stated. |
Evidence
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic
FDA decisions
K202300 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-03-05
Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic, Optellum software, Optellum platform
Subtle Medical
FDA decisions
K254120 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-05-15
SubtleHD-CT 1.x
K254013 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-05-14
SubtleHD-PET 1.x
K243250 (opens in new tab)510(k)2025-02-12
SubtleHD 1.x
K240290 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-08-21
AiMIFY 1.x
K241329 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-07-11
SubtleSYNTH 1.x
Show 6 more
K233699 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-04-29
SubtleREFORMAT 1.x
K223623 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-05-11
SubtleMR 2.3.x
K211964 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-09-28
SubtlePET
K203182 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-02-26
SubtleMR
K191688 (opens in new tab)510(k)2019-09-16
SubtleMR
K182336 (opens in new tab)510(k)2018-11-30
SubtlePET
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Subtle Medical.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic | Subtle Medical |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2016 | n/a |
| HQ | GB | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full radiology comparison
Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.
