Osso VR vs Theator
Theator's buyer sits in health-system documentation and Osso's in clinical education, so nobody weighs the two against each other. A hospital system on Epic or Oracle Health with a documentation budget buys Theator. A residency program or a nursing education department buys Osso for VR procedure practice. Theator's evidence includes a 158-case study in the Journal of the American College of Surgeons, where AI-written robotic prostatectomy reports were 87.3% accurate against 72.8% for surgeon-written ones. Mayo Clinic urology and Theator authors wrote it, and the homepage figure of over 95% is the vendor's own metric. Osso lists three randomized trials of its platform, in knee replacement and tibial nailing, with skill ratings measured on simulated procedures, and Osso financed one of them. Theator has no FDA 510(k) record as of October 2026, and Osso's pages state no FDA status. Neither shows a price: Theator takes demo requests, Osso a contact form.
Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026
When to pick each one
Osso VR
- Orthopedic and nursing VR procedure training
- Six papers listed, three randomized trials
- Apple Vision Pro surgical app
Theator
- Surgery-to-Text operative reports from video
- Works with any camera system, per Theator
- Oracle Health collaboration announced June 2026
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Osso VR
48of 100
Theator
48of 100
| Dimension | Osso VR | Theator | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 18 | 0 / 18 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 1.4 | 0 / 1.4 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 0.8 | 0 / 0.8 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 21 / 21 | 21 / 21 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 7.8 / 7.8 | 3.9 / 7.8 | +3.9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 6 / 12 | +2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Osso VR
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price, pricing is requested through the website. Headsets cost extra. |
Theator
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The homepage offers a demo request. |
Evidence
Osso VR
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name Osso VR.
- The Utility of Virtual Reality in Orthopedic Surgical Training. (opens in new tab)
- Randomized Trial of a Virtual Reality Tool to Teach Surgical Technique for Tibial Shaft Fracture Intramedullary Nailing. (opens in new tab)
- Does Virtual Reality Improve Procedural Completion and Accuracy in an Intramedullary Tibial Nail Procedure? A Randomized Control Trial. (opens in new tab)
Theator
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name Theator.
- Implementation of artificial intelligence-based computer vision model in laparoscopic appendectomy: validation, reliability, and clinical correlation. (opens in new tab)
- Assessing operative variability in robot-assisted radical prostatectomy (RARP) through AI. (opens in new tab)
- AI-powered real-time annotations during urologic surgery: The future of training and quality metrics. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Osso VR | Theator |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2018 |
| HQ | n/a | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full surgical ai comparison
Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.


