MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Perplexity Pro vs Scholarcy

A fellow building a grand-rounds talk from five key papers is the sharper test. Scholarcy at $9.99 per month with a one-week free trial turns each paper into a structured summary and flashcards, and What AI Do I Need lists unlimited summaries, saved flashcards and export on the paid plan. Perplexity Pro at $17 per month billed annually sells cited answers to typed questions, Deep research and model choice. For that fellow Perplexity Pro finishes second.

Perplexity suits a clinician who needs a cited starting point on an unfamiliar question, and the ai101.health review points to UpToDate and DynaMed as faster and more reliable for established conditions. Scholarcy falls short for a student working from scanned or non-English papers, where What AI Do I Need reports accuracy dropping.

Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Perplexity Pro logo

Perplexity Pro

by Perplexity AI · founded 2022

General-purpose answer engine with inline citations and Deep research. Perplexity does not market it as a clinical tool.

Scholarcy logo

Scholarcy

by Texthelp (now Everway)

Summarizes papers into structured summary flashcards.

When to pick each one

Perplexity Pro

  • Pro is $17 per month, billed annually
  • Deep research and model selection
  • Vendor says answers carry inline citations
Read the full Perplexity Pro review

Scholarcy

  • $9.99 per month after a one-week free trial
  • Structured summaries and flashcards from papers
  • Paid plan adds unlimited summaries, per third-party review
Read the full Scholarcy review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Perplexity Pro

53of 100

Solid choice

Scholarcy

18of 100

Tracked
Score by dimension for Perplexity Pro and Scholarcy
DimensionPerplexity ProScholarcyDifference
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 210 / 21+8.4
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 60 / 60
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market4.2 / 60 / 6+4.2

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Perplexity Pro

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aA free tier exists.
Pron/a$204The monthly-billed price is not shown. Limited-time +$40 free Computer credits listed.
Maxn/a$2,004Adds expert-level research. The monthly-billed price is not shown.

Scholarcy

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aLimit of 10 summaries. Flashcards are exported one at a time.
Premium, monthly$9.99n/a1-week free trial, then billed monthly. Cancel any time. A yearly option exists (about $90 a year per third parties). Institutional licenses are custom. Refund terms are not stated.

Evidence

Scholarcy

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecPerplexity ProScholarcy
Free tierYesYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded2022n/a
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full research tools comparison

Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.