MedAI Verdict
Research tools

Medical Research

Scholarcy

by Texthelp (now Everway)

Last verified

Summarizes papers into structured summary flashcards.

At a glance

Pricing
from USD 9.99/mo
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
—
Founded
—
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

23/100Niche fit
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/11

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    0/7.8

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    8.4/27

    1 peer-reviewed paper

  • Vendor & Market
    3/18

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    6.5/15.5

    Prices listed publicly

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/6

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/5

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/4

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/2

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/1

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers8/21

    1 peer-reviewed paper

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/6

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal3/12

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Years in market0/6

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/9

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency7/7

    Prices listed publicly

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

Summarizes papers into structured summary flashcards.

Pricing from from USD 9.99/mo.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Scholarcy turns research papers into structured summaries and flashcards. It is a general academic tool with no medical claims. The paid plan costs $9.99 a month with a one-week free trial. It suits a resident or student who reads many papers and wants quick structured notes. What AI Do I Need reports that accuracy drops on poorly scanned PDFs and non-English papers.

What is Scholarcy and who sells it?

Scholarcy was founded in London in 2018 by Phil Gooch and Emma Warren Jones. Texthelp Group announced its acquisition in November 2024, with terms undisclosed (Texthelp press release). Press coverage of the deal says the product now operates within Everway, Texthelp's rebrand, and that the historical API is no longer sold commercially.

What does it do?

The pricing page describes "unlimited summaries, saved in one place, and readable from any device." The free tier lets you import a range of file formats. Paid plans add unlimited summarization, saved flashcards, export, literature matrices and bibliographies, according to What AI Do I Need.

What does it cost?

The official page lists $9.99 a month, with a one-week free trial and monthly billing afterward, cancel at any time (scholarcy.com/pricing). The free plan is capped at 10 summaries and exports flashcards one at a time. Third parties put the yearly price at about $90. One review says institutional licences start from $8,000 a year.

What do users say?

What AI Do I Need reports that accuracy drops on poorly scanned PDFs, non-English papers and unusual formatting. ScreenApp's review praises the low price and the flashcard output.

What does the evidence say?

The only PubMed record tied to the name is a 2026 review in Clinical Spine Surgery titled "Artificial Intelligence: The Cutting-Edge Research Companion" (PMID 41886484), a general review of AI research tools rather than an evaluation of Scholarcy. HIPAA, SOC 2 and BAA terms are not stated.

The verdict

At $9.99 a month Scholarcy is cheap enough to try for journal club preparation or for turning a stack of PDFs into flashcards. What AI Do I Need names scanned and non-English papers as where accuracy drops, so a resident working mostly with clean English-language PDFs gets the most from it.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Pricing

What it costs

Single paid tier at USD 9.99/month per provider.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Free——Limit of 10 summaries. Flashcards are exported one at a time.
Premium, monthlyUSD 9.99—1-week free trial, then billed monthly. Cancel any time. A yearly option exists (about $90 a year per third parties). Institutional licences are custom. Refund terms are not stated.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.

Peer-reviewed coverage

What the literature says

1 peer-reviewed study indexed on PubMed evaluate Scholarcy in clinical contexts. The most relevant are shown below, ranked by editorial relevance score combining title match, study design, recency, and journal tier.

Artificial Intelligence: The Cutting-Edge Research Companion.
DiCiurcio WT, Nanavati R, Miller M, et al.· Clin Spine Surg· 2026
Artificial intelligence (AI) represents a paradigm-shifting technology that empowers computers and software to emulate human intelligence by processing vast amounts of data. Its ubiquitous utilization continues to expand across diverse domains. AI software leverages data to discern patterns, enhancing the efficiency and effectiveness of various tasks. This paper reviews 6 prominent AI platforms: Elicit, Scite, Trinka, SciSpace, Scholarcy, and Litmaps. The study aims to explore their applications in literature composition and their potential to streamline the entirety of the process. Despite t…

See all on PubMed