MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

ResearchRabbit vs Undermind

ResearchRabbit begins with papers in hand and Undermind begins with a question. Undermind asks follow-up questions, then reads and ranks hundreds of papers by following citation trails. Pro costs $16 per month billed annually, with a free tier at standard rate limits. ResearchRabbit+ costs $10 per month billed annually. Undermind's recall figure, 85% of the 20 most relevant papers in 10 minutes, comes from a 23-query benchmark the vendor ran itself. A fellow opening a scoping review in an unfamiliar field has the stronger case for Undermind, and a researcher holding three key papers who wants to see what cites them has it for ResearchRabbit. A library journal review reportedly judged Undermind's search strategies not reportable or reproducible and noted no MeSH integration, so Undermind loses for a librarian supporting a registered systematic review. On the ResearchRabbit side, Aaron Tay found two-way Zotero sync missing after the 2025 revamp, and one secondary source says the paid tier restores it.

Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026

ResearchRabbit logo

ResearchRabbit

by ResearchRabbit

Finds related papers from seed articles and shows them as citation and similarity maps.

Undermind logo

Undermind

by Undermind · founded 2023

Literature-search agent that asks follow-up questions, reads hundreds of papers and follows citation trails.

When to pick each one

ResearchRabbit

  • Starts from papers you already hold
  • ResearchRabbit+ at $10 per month, billed annually
  • Free plan covers up to 50 seed articles
Read the full ResearchRabbit review

Undermind

  • Asks follow-up questions, then follows citation trails
  • Pro at $16 per month, billed annually
  • Team at $15 per person monthly, billed annually
Read the full Undermind review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

ResearchRabbit

24of 100

Niche fit

Undermind

41of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for ResearchRabbit and Undermind
DimensionResearchRabbitUndermindDifference
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 218.4 / 21-8.4
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 60 / 60
Funding & adoption signal6 / 123 / 12+3
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market0 / 63 / 6-3

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

ResearchRabbit

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aUp to 50 seed articles, unlimited searches across 310M+ articles, unlimited library and shared collections.
ResearchRabbit+, annualn/a$120Up to 300 seed articles, advanced search controls, multiple projects and Signals alerts. Country discount codes are available.
ResearchRabbit+, monthly$12.5n/aSame features as the annual plan.
Institutionn/an/aContact for pricing. Adds LibKey integration, user management and usage statistics.

Undermind

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Freen/an/aStandard rate limits on chats and searches.
Pron/a$192The page says annual billing saves 20%. The monthly-billed price is not shown.
Teamn/a$180Per person.
Enterprisen/an/aContact us. Adds sitewide login and an admin dashboard.

Evidence

ResearchRabbit

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecResearchRabbitUndermind
Free tierYesYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2023
HQn/an/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full research tools comparison

Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.