Scholarcy vs Scite
Scholarcy offers a free tier capped at 10 summaries, then $9.99 per month after a one-week trial. Scite has no free plan and starts at $12 per month billed yearly after a 7-day trial. Scholarcy compresses a paper into a structured summary and flashcards, which suits a resident preparing journal club from a stack of clean English-language PDFs. Scite shows whether later papers supported or contrasted a finding, which suits a clinician-researcher checking references before submitting a manuscript. Scite loses a trainee with no research budget on cost alone: its cheapest way in is a seven-day trial followed by a yearly charge, while Scholarcy's free tier costs nothing. Library guides from Calgary, Einstein and Florida State caution that Scite's labels can be wrong and coverage varies by field. A review at What AI Do I Need puts Scholarcy's weak spot at scanned and non-English papers.
Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026
When to pick each one
Scholarcy
- Free tier allows 10 summaries
- Paid plan at $9.99 per month
- Flashcard output for journal club preparation
Scite
- Smart Citations show support and contrast
- Basic at $12 per month, billed yearly
- 7-day trial on Basic and Pro
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Scholarcy
18of 100
Scite
81of 100
| Dimension | Scholarcy | Scite | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | -14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Scholarcy
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | n/a | n/a | Limit of 10 summaries. Flashcards are exported one at a time. |
| Premium, monthly | $9.99 | n/a | 1-week free trial, then billed monthly. Cancel any time. A yearly option exists (about $90 a year per third parties). Institutional licenses are custom. Refund terms are not stated. |
Scite
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | n/a | $144 | 7-day free trial. The pricing page lists no free plan. |
| Pro | n/a | $480 | 7-day free trial. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | Custom pricing based on users and usage. |
Evidence
Scholarcy
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Scite
Peer-reviewed
3 PubMed records name Scite.
- Analysis of clinical experience with angiotensin II: A meta-analysis and 4 AI. (opens in new tab)
- From Algorithms to Academia: An Endeavor to Benchmark AI-Generated Scientific Papers against Human Standards. (opens in new tab)
- Searching smarter, not harder: leveraging AI to enhance literature searches for theory-driven reviews-A methodological case study. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Scholarcy | Scite |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2018 |
| HQ | n/a | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full research tools comparison
Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.

