MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Theator vs VirtaMed

Theator advertises documentation accuracy above 95%. The JACS paper behind that claim, written by Mayo Clinic and Theator authors on 158 robotic prostatectomies, reports 87.3% for AI-drafted operative reports against 72.8% for surgeons. Most of its other validation papers also carry Theator-employed co-authors. OpenFDA lists no 510(k) under the name, CE is not stated, and a promotional page calling it FDA-cleared shows no K-number. HIPAA, SOC 2 and HITRUST are not stated either, so a security team needing attestations or a cleared product first has to wait. The buyer is a health system on Epic or Oracle Health that already records robotic or laparoscopic cases and wants operative reports from the same video. A surgeon with no video infrastructure has no use for it.

None of that overlaps with VirtaMed, and no department chooses between them. VirtaMed builds ArthroS, LaparoS, GynoS, UroS and RoboS simulators with what it calls original instruments and haptics, and the vendor says ArthroS has been part of the Swiss orthopedics board exam since 2013. A simulation center or residency program buys it for assessable practice. Anyone after a subscription or a posted price will not find one, because it is an enterprise capital purchase.

Surgical AI · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Theator logo

Theator

by Theator Inc. · founded 2018

Surgical video intelligence that turns operating-room video into structured, billing-ready operative reports (Surgery-to-Text).

VirtaMed logo

VirtaMed

by VirtaMed AG

Surgical training simulators with real instruments for arthroscopy, laparoscopy, gynecology, urology and robotic surgery.

When to pick each one

Theator

  • Operative reports drafted from surgical video
  • Embedded in Epic and Oracle Health, vendor says
  • Works with any camera system, vendor says
Read the full Theator review

VirtaMed

  • Haptic simulators with original instruments, vendor says
  • ArthroS in Swiss board exam since 2013, vendor says
  • Enterprise capital purchase, no public price
Read the full VirtaMed review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Theator

48of 100

Solid choice

VirtaMed

37of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Theator and VirtaMed
DimensionTheatorVirtaMedDifference
FDA clearance0 / 180 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 1.40 / 1.40
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 0.80 / 0.80
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 2114.7 / 21+6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review3.9 / 7.87.8 / 7.8-3.9
Funding & adoption signal6 / 123 / 12+3
Pricing transparency2.5 / 55 / 5-2.5
Years in market6 / 60 / 6+6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Theator

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. The homepage offers a demo request.

VirtaMed

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aEnterprise capital purchase.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecTheatorVirtaMed
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded2018n/a
HQUSCH

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full surgical ai comparison

Surgical video intelligence (Theator), OR analytics (OR Black Box), VR training (Osso VR, FundamentalVR), robotic AI (da Vinci 5 Case Insights). Mostly enterprise capital purchases.