MedAI Verdict
Medical education

AI Medical Education

Boards and Beyond

by McGraw Hill Education

Last verified

Step 1 video course taught by Dr. Jason Ryan.

On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

29/100Niche fit
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/6.2

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    0/2.6

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    4.9/8.8

    2 peer-reviewed papers

  • Vendor & Market
    8.4/19.8

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    3.3/20

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/1

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/5

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/1

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/1

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/0

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers5/7

    2 peer-reviewed papers

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/2

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal8/12

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Years in market0/8

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/14

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency3/7

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

Step 1 video course taught by Dr. Jason Ryan.

same price for Step 1 Preclinical and Steps 2-3 Clinical.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Boards and Beyond is a video course for USMLE Step 1 and Steps 2 and 3, taught mainly by Jason Ryan, MD, with a question set tied to each video. It is for a student who learns from lectures and wants a structured course beside a large question bank, and it does not replace that bank. A vendor-adjacent audit calls it video-first rather than an adaptive, high-volume practice engine, and the question counts point the same way. No 2025 or 2026 community reviews are published.

Pricing

Boards and Beyond pricing in 2026: what it actually costs

Boards and Beyond costs $89 for 1 month, $249 for 1 year and $399 for 2 years on the McGraw Hill product page, with the same ladder for Step 1 Preclinical and Steps 2-3 Clinical (as of October 2026). The company's own site quotes a range of $24 for one week to $399 for two years. US first-time users get a 7-day free trial.

TierBilling periodPriceNotes
1 month1 month, one-time$89same price for Step 1 Preclinical and Steps 2-3 Clinical
Show all 9 price points
3 months3 months, one-time$149same price for both products
6 months6 months, one-time$199same price for both products
1 year1 year, one-time$249same price for both products
18 months18 months, one-time$349same price for both products
2 years2 years, one-time$399longest term
1 week1 week, one-time$24lowest price quoted on boardsbeyond.com/Pricing ('from $24 for one week')
Clinical Confidence2 price points
Clinical Confidence6 months, one-time$149boardsbeyond.com quotes $149 for 6 months. Product not confirmed
Clinical Confidence1 year, one-time$199boardsbeyond.com quotes $199 for a full year. Product not confirmed

Discounts

  • 7-day free trial: For US-based first-time users, per the Boards and Beyond FAQ. (boardsbeyond.com)
  • AMA multi-year member perk: A free 3-month subscription (Step 1, Steps 2-3 or OMM) with a multi-year AMA membership. (ama-assn.org)
  • McGraw Hill monthly promo code: 10% off at checkout. An October 2026 code was reported on the McGraw Hill support page. We did not verify the code at checkout. (mheducation.com)

What is not in the Boards and Beyond list price?

Read the ladder per month. One month is $89. One year is $249, about $20.75 a month. Two years is $399, about $16.63 a month (October 2026). Short plans carry a large premium, and the only reason to buy one is a hard date.

Say an international graduate starts the videos in November for a June Step 1. Six months at $199 ends in May, too early. A year at $249 covers it with room to spare, and only $50 separates the two. The 18-month plan at $349 costs $100 more than the year for six extra months you may not use.

Is Boards and Beyond one product or two?

Step 1 Preclinical and Steps 2-3 Clinical sit on the same price ladder. We could not confirm whether they are sold separately or together, so we do not claim a bundle price. A year of each at list would be 2 x $249 = $498, which is plain arithmetic. Boards and Beyond also sells Clinical Confidence modules. Its own page quotes $199 for a year and $149 for six months, but we could not confirm which product that line belongs to.

How did the Boards and Beyond price move?

An April 2020 ladder reported by Elite Medical Prep on Medium ran $49, $129, $149, $199, $249 and $299 across six durations. Blueprint wrote in January 2021 that a year cost $199. The year is $249 now. McGraw Hill took ownership in December 2022. Third-party ladders from 2024 and earlier disagree with each other, so we use the McGraw Hill product page as the primary source.

Does Boards and Beyond auto-renew or refund?

We do not know. On October 14, 2026 we read the price range and the 7-day trial terms on boardsbeyond.com, but not the refund policy or auto-renew behavior. The site also has an Institutional Purchases section with no prices, and we found no group student rate. Ask your dean's office whether your school has a deal.

What discounts exist?

US-based first-time users get 7 days free. Multi-year AMA members can choose a free 3-month subscription. McGraw Hill publishes a monthly 10% promo. The October 2026 code was reported, but we did not verify it at checkout.

Is Boards and Beyond worth it?

Yes, at $249 for the year, if your problem is understanding and not question volume. A student who watches the videos during the preclinical years alongside coursework gets a year of structured teaching for $249.

If the gap is question practice for Step 3, look at UWorld instead, which starts at $449 for 90 days.

For a pathology gap alone, the alternative is Pathoma. Its 12-month Pro plan at $99.95 includes the textbook and costs $149.05 less than a year of Boards and Beyond. For teaching across subjects Boards and Beyond is the broader library. For pathology only, Pathoma wins on price. AMBOSS and USMLE-Rx cover the question side, and the Step 1 study tools guide compares them.

Skip the 1-month plan at $89 if you expect to finish in four weeks, and skip the product if you will not watch videos. Ladder checked against the McGraw Hill product page on October 14, 2026.

Verified October 14, 2026 from mheducation.com.

What is Boards and Beyond and who sells it?

The McGraw Hill product page describes it as student-tested and faculty-trusted, designed and taught by award-winning educator Dr. Jason Ryan and a team of physicians. Jason Ryan founded it in 2014 in West Hartford, Connecticut, per two company-data sites (Mergr and Tracxn).

McGraw Hill acquired Boards and Beyond on 6 December 2022, per the McGraw Hill press release. McGraw Hill is a Platinum Equity portfolio company. The purchase price was not disclosed. Tracxn lists no funding rounds and 9 employees as of 31 July 2026. LinkedIn still lists the company as self-owned, which is out of date given the acquisition, so we weigh the Tracxn headcount lightly.

What is in the subscription?

The Step 1 Preclinical course has more than 490 videos, each tied to a question set, with more than 2,300 USMLE-style questions and First Aid page references, per the McGraw Hill product guide. Older pages say 440 plus or 447 videos, so the course appears to have grown or the pages are out of date. We quote the current guide.

The Step 2-3 Clinical course lists more than 260 videos and more than 1,300 questions, per the McGraw Hill product page. It also lists performance tracking across 16 categories, simulated lab values with a calculator, and a link to the White Coat Companion book.

Two smaller lines sit alongside them. Clinical Confidence is aimed at new clinicians and covers Hospital Medicine, Surgery, Pediatrics and OB/GYN, and an OMM Series covers osteopathic manipulative medicine. Quizzes run in timed or tutor mode, with custom playlists and slide PDFs. Per the product guide, video is streaming only, with no downloads. The vendor's pricing page also lists notes, quiz tracking and mobile access as part of the subscription.

About 2,300 questions for Step 1 is a fraction of the 3,600 plus UWorld lists for its Step 1 bank per UWorld's product page, and of the 5,000 plus USMLE-Rx lists for Qmax per its home page. These are vendor-stated counts and the questions serve different purposes: here they check a lecture, there they are the main study method.

What does it do well?

It gives structure to a student who needs it. Each video comes with questions, and the Step 1 course ties to First Aid page numbers, so a student working from First Aid has an index into the lectures.

Northwestern's Feinberg School of Medicine lists the resources used by high Step 1 scorers and rates Boards and Beyond highly, and one student there called it "by far the best of any resource I used". The page's date is not stated. It is one school's list, selected by the school, so it shows that strong students use the course, not that the course raises scores.

The product spans more than Step 1. The Step 2-3 course and the Clinical Confidence modules mean a student who liked the format can stay with it into clinical years.

Where does it fall short?

It is a course, not a bank. The iatrox audit of the Step 2 CK product, from a vendor-adjacent blog, describes it as video-first, without an adaptive high-volume timed practice engine, an AI tutor or spaced repetition, and says to treat it as a course rather than stand-alone prep. The question counts above fit that description. A student who needs thousands of additional timed questions must buy them elsewhere.

Video is streaming only. A student who studies on trains or in hospitals without reliable connectivity cannot download lectures, per the product guide.

Refund and auto-renew terms are not stated. The vendor's pricing and FAQ pages show only a welcome stub without JavaScript, and no Reddit or Student Doctor Network thread covers the topic. Read both on the live site before paying.

What does it cost?

The headline range, per the vendor's pricing page, is from $24 for one week to $399 for two years, as of October 2026. A product line for new clinicians is priced separately. A third-party ladder from about two and a half years ago lists intermediate terms and is not reproduced here. The 7-day trial, McGraw Hill's monthly 10 percent promotion, the AMA member perk and the open refund question are in the pricing section.

How does it compare with Pathoma and the question banks?

Pathoma is the nearest comparison for format. It is a pathology-only video course, written and taught by one physician, at a much lower list price: $99.95 for 12 months per Pathoma's pricing page. Boards and Beyond covers the whole of Step 1 and does so with more videos and more questions. A student who wants pathology depth at low cost can start with Pathoma. A student who wants one lecturer for all subjects should price Boards and Beyond.

USMLE-Rx sells its own Express Videos for Step 1, 90 hours or more by the vendor's count, at $149 for 12 months per its pricing page. It is the closest like-for-like video product, and it is a cheaper one on the page we read. We have no source comparing teaching quality between the two.

UWorld and AMBOSS are the question-bank half of a typical pairing. Boards and Beyond does not compete with either, and its own question sets are too small to stand alone.

What about compliance and institutional use?

No HIPAA, SOC 2 or HITRUST attestation is stated, and a lecture course that holds no patient data does not need one. The pricing page has an Institutional Purchases section with no prices in it, so a school buying for a cohort has to ask McGraw Hill for a quote. No public group rate exists to cite.

What does the evidence say?

Two 2024 papers mention the tool, and neither tests it: a MedEdPublish paper on the use and financial burden of third-party resources among medical students, and a Cureus literature review on study strategies, exam scores and study resources.

No study of Boards and Beyond's effect on scores is published, and neither is a comparison with other video courses. The McGraw Hill page speaks of helping institutions improve learning outcomes, and no data supports that sentence.

Who should buy it, and who should not?

SituationCall
Second-year student whose school lectures are hard to follow, with several months before dedicated studyBuy. The 7-day trial, offered to first-time US users per the vendor's FAQ, shows whether Dr. Ryan's style works.
Student in a short dedicated windowThink harder. A video course takes calendar time, and a question-heavy plan leaves the library unused.
Student who has finished a full First Aid pass and wants practiceSkip it and buy a question bank.
AMA member with a multi-year student membershipTake the free 3-month subscription first, per the AMA page, and judge from there.

The verdict

Buy Boards and Beyond for the lectures, not the questions. It earns a place for the student who studies by watching and listening, and none for the student who needs volume. The Step 1 course carries about 2,300 questions against UWorld's 3,600 plus, which is the gap a second purchase has to fill.

Editorial review last generated October 14, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Peer-reviewed coverage

What the literature says

2 peer-reviewed studies indexed on PubMed evaluate Boards and Beyond in clinical contexts. The most relevant are shown below, ranked by editorial relevance score combining title match, study design, recency, and journal tier.

A Literature Review on Optimizing Study Strategies in Medical Education: Insights From Exam Scores and Study Resources.
Morey G, Morey VC, Gruman T, et al.· Cureus· 2024
Medical school exams, like those by the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) and the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE), assess essential knowledge and skills for safe patient care, essential for student advancement and securing competitive residencies. Understanding the correlation between exam scores and medical school performance, as well as identifying trends among high scorers, provides valuable insights for both medical students and educators. This review examines the link between study resources and NBME exam scores, as well as psychological factors influenc…
The Double-Edged Sword of Third-Party Resources: Examining Use and Financial Burden of Extracurricular Tools in Medical Students.
Farhan S, Kienzle D, Guler M, et al.· MedEdPublish (2016)· 2024
According to the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Year 2 questionnaire, the percentage of students using online medical education videos (Boards and Beyond®Sketchy Medical®, Youtube) at least once per week increased from 47.7% (2015) to 70.1% (2022). Transition to virtual learning in 2020 fostered a greater reliance on these online third-party resources (i.e., educational tools distinct from formal medical curriculum), yet existing literature have rarely evaluated their efficacy. As students in this landscape, we aimed to review the usage, efficacy, and drawbacks of t…

See all on PubMed

Frequently asked

Common questions about Boards and Beyond

Answers below cover the most-searched clinician questions for Boards and Beyond in 2026. Updated as vendor docs and pricing change.