MedAI Verdict
Drug info

AI Drug Information

Clinical Pharmacology

by Elsevier

Last verified

Curated Elsevier drug reference with monographs, dosing, interactions and indications, by subscription.

At a glance

Pricing
Available by subscription only. No public price. A free trial can be requested, length not stated.
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
—
Founded
—
AI features
None stated. Listed as a reference for comparison.
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

12/100Tracked
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/22

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    0/26

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    0/27

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    10.9/21.6

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    3/15

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/12

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/10

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/14

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/8

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/4

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/21

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/6

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal11/16

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Years in market0/6

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/9

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency3/6

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

Curated Elsevier drug reference with monographs, dosing, interactions and indications, by subscription.

Available by subscription only. No public price. A free trial can be requested, length not stated.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Clinical Pharmacology is Elsevier's subscription drug reference, sold through ClinicalKey. It is a curated database of monographs, interactions and dosing, written and updated by pharmacists, and access runs through institutional licences. Hospital pharmacy teams and health systems with an existing Elsevier contract are the buyers it is built around.

What is Clinical Pharmacology and who sells it?

Elsevier sells it, under its Health Sciences division inside the RELX group. It was originally published by Gold Standard Inc. of Tampa, Florida, which a 2008 CMS compendium document names as part of Elsevier. Elsevier's materials say the content is compiled by an editorial team made up entirely of PharmDs. A Google Play listing claims the product is used in "over 2,000 hospitals and 35,000 retail pharmacies", which is the vendor's own figure. Elsevier's generative AI features sit in a separate platform, ClinicalKey AI, and its pages describe Clinical Pharmacology as having "intelligent search".

What does it do well?

The tools menu covers drug interaction checking, IV compatibility, product comparison, adverse reaction lookup and clinical comparison. It also carries lists such as Do Not Crush, Beers Criteria, narrow therapeutic index drugs, boxed warnings, REMS programmes and ISMP high-alert medications.

Dosing is organised by indication and population through a Jump to Indication feature. There are also clinical calculators, a drug identifier, patient education sheets, drug class overviews and lab reference values. Two paediatric references, the Harriet Lane and the Teddy Bear Book, are included. Elsevier says content is updated continuously, including weekends and holidays, which is the vendor's claim.

A mobile app, Clinical Pharmacology by CK, is available on iOS.

Where does it fall short?

Access is the main limit. The ClinicalKey login page says the product is "available by subscription only", and sign-in runs through OpenAthens or an institutional login. A site licence through an employer fits that model, and no individual price is published.

What backs its accuracy?

The case rests on Elsevier's statement that the content is pharmacist-authored and continuously updated.

How much does it cost?

Elsevier gives no price. The page offers a request form for a free trial with no length stated.

Who is it for?

A hospital pharmacy that needs a defensible, documented source for interaction and compatibility questions is the natural buyer. So is a health system that wants a drug reference inside an existing ClinicalKey contract.

The verdict

Clinical Pharmacology is a pharmacist-edited drug reference sold by subscription through institutional licences.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Pricing

What it costs

All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Subscription——Available by subscription only. No public price. A free trial can be requested, length not stated.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.