MedAI Verdict
Mental health

AI Mental Health

Limbic

by Limbic AI  ·  US

Last verified

Clinical AI for mental health intake, assessment and support, sold to health plans and care providers. UKCA Class IIa in the UK.

At a glance

Pricing
No public price. The FAQ says to talk to sales.
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
—
Founded
—
HQ
US
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

9/100Tracked
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/25

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    0/13

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    0/20

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    6/18

    Early-stage company

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    2.5/18.5

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/12

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/13

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/7

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/4

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/2

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/14

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/6

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal6/12

    Early-stage company

  • Years in market0/6

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/14

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency3/5

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

Clinical AI for mental health intake, assessment and support, sold to health plans and care providers. UKCA Class IIa in the UK.

No public price. The FAQ says to talk to sales.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Limbic is a conversational AI for mental health intake, sold to services and health plans. It started with self-referral and triage for NHS Talking Therapies and now also sells a therapy-support companion and a scribe for NHS mental health teams. It fits a service lead who wants to widen the front door of a talking-therapy service and can run a procurement. A solo therapist after a note-taking tool, or a buyer who needs published clinical-outcome data and a public price, will find nothing here to buy.

What is Limbic and who sells it?

Limbic AI is a company led by CEO and co-founder Ross Harper. Its footer lists an address at 100 Church Street, New York, and its products were built for NHS services. Khosla Ventures led a $14M round with Gaingels in March 2024, as reported by Medical Device Network. No acquisition has been reported.

The homepage says Limbic "helps health plans and care providers scale access, speed up care, and improve outcomes." Products named on the site are Limbic Access, described as "the clinical AI assistant for patient intakes and assessments", Limbic Care, "the clinical AI companion for on-demand support", and a regulated scribe for NHS mental health. The vendor also describes a "Limbic Layer", a proprietary layer that sits between users and a large language model.

What does Limbic do?

Access is the original product. A patient refers themselves through a chat instead of a form, and the system gathers the information a service needs to triage. In an interview with Medical Device Network, the company said the tool classifies the eight common disorders treated in NHS Talking Therapies, formerly IAPT, with 93% accuracy. That figure comes from audit work the company supplied and has not been checked independently.

Care is the newer generative product. The homepage describes a therapy agent that delivers CBT-style conversation and escalates to a clinician when needed. The company's site claims assessments for more than 650,000 patients and use in 45% of NHS Talking Therapies services. Both are vendor figures.

Integration is described only in general terms. The FAQ says the software is "interoperable with a number of EHR systems and can operate alongside patient management systems" and names none. The sale goes to the service, which then offers the tool to its patients.

What does the evidence say?

The best evidence is Habicht and colleagues, published in Nature Medicine in February 2024. It was an observational study of 129,400 self-referrals across 28 NHS Talking Therapies services. At the 14 services that used the chatbot, referrals rose 15% over three months, against 6% at 14 matched services without it. MIT Technology Review covered the result. Some authors work for Limbic.

The design limits what it shows. It was not randomised, it ran for three months, and the developer helped write it. It counts referrals and says nothing about recovery, so it supports the claim that a chat front door brings more people into a service and leaves open whether those people do better.

The company's research page goes further, with claims of 29% more referrals from minority groups, double the recovery rates, 23% lower dropout and two more sessions per patient. These are the company's figures, and no independent source confirms them.

What are the regulatory and security claims?

Limbic says it holds UKCA marking as a Class IIa medical device, with the notified body AB 0120. The FAQ words it as "Class IIa medical device certification (UK)", and the homepage calls it "the only Class II medical device for AI-enabled diagnostic support." The scope for Care, as opposed to Access, is not stated.

The site shows ISO 27001, ISO 13485 and ISO 14971 logos and Cyber Essentials, and the FAQ says the product is "HIPAA- and GDPR-compliant". That is self-attestation. FDA status, SOC 2 and HITRUST are not stated, which matters because the company is now pushing into the US.

What does Limbic cost?

Limbic sells by contract. The FAQ says "Talk to sales", and no trial or refund terms are published.

The verdict

Limbic is a credible choice for a UK-style talking-therapy service that wants more referrals and has the budget for an enterprise contract. The referral uplift is real in the one published study. The recovery and dropout claims stay the company's own until an independent trial exists, and the Class IIa certificate is not shown to cover the generative products. A private practice, a US clinic without a payer contract or a clinician who wants a scribe has no reason to start a procurement.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Pricing

What it costs

All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprise——No public price. The FAQ says to talk to sales.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.

Compliance + integration

What deploys cleanly

Carries UKCA Class IIa (notified body AB 0120), ISO 13485, ISO 27001, ISO 14971 per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.