- from USD 79/mo
- Not disclosed
- Not disclosed
- —
- —

OnlineMedEd
by OnlineMedEd (Archer Review)
Whiteboard video lessons, illustrated notes and question banks for MD, DO and PA students, from preclinical years to Step 1, Step 2 and COMLEX.
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance0/6.2
No FDA clearance listed
- Clinical Integration0/2.6
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength0/8.8
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market8.4/19.8
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Sentiment & Transparency13.4/20
Sentiment 51/100 across 81 mentions
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/1
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/5
No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation
- EHR integrations (count)0/1
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/1
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/0
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers0/7
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/2
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal8/12
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Years in market0/8
Founded year not recorded
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)7/14
Sentiment 51/100 across 81 mentions
- Pricing transparency7/7
Prices listed publicly
Whiteboard video lessons, illustrated notes and question banks for MD, DO and PA students, from preclinical years to Step 1, Step 2 and COMLEX.
Pricing from from USD 79/mo.
Bottom line
OnlineMedEd is a video-and-notes curriculum for medical students, now owned by Archer Review. It costs $30 a month on an annual plan and covers preclinical and clinical years plus Step 1, Step 2 and COMLEX. It suits a third-year student who needs a clear, fast overview before a shelf exam. A resident who wants depth beyond the intern level, or anyone who expects a free tier, will not find it here. The open question is what the Archer transition changes for existing subscribers.
What is OnlineMedEd and who owns it now?
The site's tagline is "Think like a doctor from the start. Built by doctors. Trusted by learners." (OnlineMedEd website, October 2026). It was founded by Dr. Dustyn Williams around whiteboard video lessons, and PitchBook lists Doug Hughes as CEO and about $35.6M in prior funding from investors including For Good Ventures, Impact Engine and Lumos.
Archer Review, a Leeds Equity Partners portfolio company, announced its acquisition of OnlineMedEd on March 19, 2025, with terms undisclosed (CityBiz). The home page now says that as the company transitions to the Archer Review platform, the OnlineMedEd content "trusted for over 10 years is still at our core". A student FAQ on the site covers the acquisition, and checkout redirects to Archer.
What does OnlineMedEd include?
The pricing page lists more than 600 whiteboard video lessons, more than 3,000 pages of illustrated notes, and a question bank with more than 3,300 questions on the MD track and more than 2,800 on the PA track. Essentials courses cover learning how to learn, biostatistics and food as medicine, and the DO track adds osteopathic manipulative medicine content. Separate tracks exist for MD, DO and PA programs.
Two products from community threads, the Intern Bootcamp and personal coaching, do not appear on the current site. A 2021 Reddit post cited the Intern Bootcamp at $145 lifetime, and a 2022 post cited coaching at $6,000 to $8,000.
What does OnlineMedEd cost?
As of October 2026, each of the MD, DO and PA programs is priced at $30 a month billed as $360 annually, $48 a month billed as $288 every six months, or $79 for a single month (OnlineMedEd pricing page). The page shows no free trial and no refund policy, and it offers a group discount through institutions. There is no free tier on the pricing page. Whether existing subscribers keep legacy prices after the Archer move is not stated.
What do students say?
The Reddit record is old, and several comments sit in threads about other products. Of 85 Reddit rows collected, some are off-topic. The sentiment split across the set is 52 neutral, 13 positive, 10 mixed and 10 negative, spanning 2017 to 2026, and none written after the Archer transition discusses it.
Praise is thin and comes mostly from Reddit. A student on r/medicalschool in 2021 liked the free videos and "Dusty as a teacher" but doubted the $145 Bootcamp. In April 2026 another r/medicalschool poster wrote "I've heard OnlineMedEd is good" for the family medicine shelf and asked whether Boards and Beyond was better. In 2019, an r/emergencymedicine thread treated it as the Step 2 video benchmark, in the phrase "Pathoma/OnlineMedEd".
The complaints are specific. In 2018 a student on r/medicalschool said the company sent survey responses with their name and class year to their school as testimonials without telling them. A 2022 poster called the coaching price "off-world" and asked whether a "guaranteed score increase" was worth $6,000 to $8,000. A PGY-2 on r/FamilyMedicine in 2024 wanted inpatient material at "resident level as opposed to like onlinemeded".
How does OnlineMedEd compare with Boards and Beyond, AMBOSS and Pathoma?
The competitor set is Boards and Beyond, AMBOSS, Lecturio, Osmosis, Pathoma, Sketchy, UWorld, USMLE-Rx, Kaplan and Picmonic. OnlineMedEd is a clinical-years video curriculum, and in the student threads it sits next to Boards and Beyond. A 2017 poster asked how well OnlineMedEd alone covers Step 2 CK and where its topic gaps are. A student who wants video, notes and a question bank under one subscription fits OnlineMedEd. A student who has already settled on another question bank can compare Boards and Beyond on video alone.
What does the evidence say?
No peer-reviewed study of OnlineMedEd exists. The one testimonial on the site calls it "concise and varying the learning modalities" and says nothing about scores.
Who is OnlineMedEd for?
A third-year student on a family medicine shelf who wants video explanations is the best fit, since that is where the community asks about it. A PA student can use the PA track, which has its own question bank of more than 2,800 questions. A DO student gets the added osteopathic manipulative medicine content. An intern or resident wanting inpatient detail should look at resident-level references, as the 2024 PGY-2 post suggests.
The verdict
Buy the annual plan if you are heading into clinical rotations and want one video-and-notes source at $30 a month. Skip it as a resident, and hold off if you plan to stay on the platform through the Archer move without knowing whether your price carries over. No refund policy is stated on the pricing page, so read the subscription terms at checkout.
Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
Single paid tier at USD 79/month per provider.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual (MD, DO or PA) | — | USD 360 | Each program is priced the same. The pricing page lists no free tier. |
| 6 months (MD, DO or PA) | — | — | Billed $288 every 6 months. |
| 1 month (MD, DO or PA) | USD 79 | — | No free trial or refund policy is stated on the page. |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.
What clinicians say about OnlineMedEd
Aggregated from 81 public clinician mentions. We quote with attribution under fair-use commentary.
Aggregated sentiment from 81 public mentions
- mixed
- 15%
- 0.03
- Reddit·81
- pricing10
- free-tier5
- training3
- accuracy3
- video-learning2
- note-quality2
- value-for-money1
- learning-resource1
- 01greatest of all time
- 02amazing resource
- 03too useful
- 04would spend the money again
- 05actually learning medicine
- 01dr. ryan's comments
- 02regret not starting earlier
- 03not perfect
- 04not sure what to expect from a soft skills course
- 05unsure if it's worth it
“Seems onlineMedEd is changing their model away from free videos”
“This GOAT gives away his top quality stuff for free and this dude Dr. Ryan's out here reporting people to the NRMP and their dean for facebook posts. Edit: Dr. Ryan is the boards and beyond guy. Save your money.”
“Imagine you're the attending who just gave a lecture and a scrub ass med student asks you a question in that manner. Like bitch just pick calcium on a test. ”
Summarized from 81 public clinician mentions. We quote with attribution under fair-use commentary and never republish full reviews. See our editorial methodology for source weights.



